InnerWorkings "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

InnerWorkings Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 2 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
31%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
InnerWorkings CEO Rich Stoddart
Rich Stoddart
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No bonuses meanwhile upper management travels worldwide for a lot of meetings(in 11 reviews)

  • "While the work environment and tasks are enjoyable, very little to no compensation changes occur with gained responsibilities(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Don't Expect Much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Like any company you make friends with your respective team and coworkers, benefits are okay, they pay you on time (most of the time) - it's a job mostly

    Cons

    big disconnect between HQ and satellite offices, also most of upper management lives in a bubble with regards to financial hardships of employees, bonus structure is tailored in a way that makes it almost impossible to achieve (meaning no bonus for you), don't look for any reward for hardwork-it doesn't exist, and you should shudder at the mere mention of VALO

    InnerWorkings2019-12-02
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Look elsewhere for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office with really great co-workers. Able to leave early before holidays and summer hours.

    Cons

    No definite career path. When someone resigns or is laid off you are given there workload without any training. Managers don't care if you can't handle the work or if you were given training. Lay-offs will happen as this company has no direction. No bonuses meanwhile upper management travels worldwide for a lot of meetings. Make sure to research this company before accepting any job offers.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Good luck... you'll need it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Casual work environment with Holiday-related perks such as early release.

    Cons

    Very sink or swim. Never have I experienced a corporate environment where people send emails merely to satisfy their own vanity. Upper management's style of doing things is to do what's best for them, not you. And there's a whole lot of communication that's pure word salad - empty rhetoric where people talk about what they should/could do, but no one ever does anything. No one takes responsibility for anything - it's always someone else's problem & since upper management is in it only for themselves, they won't hesitate to throw other people under the bus. They'll tell you they try to "retain talent" if an account is lost, but that only works if you either live in Chicago or are willing to relocate on your own dime.

    InnerWorkings2019-02-06
  4. Helpful (17)

    "Modern Company With Poor Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food perks like free coffee, tea, soda/seltzer, candy, and fruit. Beer fridge located in the Chicago Headquarters cafeteria (after 5pm only). Relatively frequent employee events like brief happy hours with wine/beer, pizza, and so on. Casual and relatively youthful work environment.

    Cons

    Cramped office space. Management's solution to an overcrowded office was to create more desks with the same square footage. Poor, dismissive, and infrequent communication from executives and upper management. Traditional upward mobility is difficult - you must move laterally and diagonally. Promotions and raises are difficult unless someone is leaving. Executives feel inaccessible despite "open door policy" and blue jeans. Most people don't know what's going on in other departments and adopt a "not my job, not my problem" attitude. Management does nothing to rectify this. INWK is spreading too thin too quickly and is not producing quality work as a result.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-11-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "InnerWorkings Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office was nice. Training was good. Teams work closely together.

    Cons

    Upper management is corrupt. Have a hard time internally growing. Lower than normal wages.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-01-30
  6. "Good but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Laid-back, great co-workers, good pay.

    Cons

    Easy to get lost in the shuffle, lack of middle-management means upper management is overworked and this leads to inaction with man account.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2016-11-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Production Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Good exposure to clients when I was on site at the location. I enjoyed my closest coworkers and they were extremely intelligent.

    Cons

    poor upper management and it seemed like everyone was only out for themselves. little room for growth for an individual looking to grow within a company.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2016-02-23

    InnerWorkings Response

    March 18, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad you enjoyed working with our clients and inwk team. We work with managers to identify internal talent and provide opportunities across accounts, and in fact, had a record number of promotions this past year. However, I would welcome any thoughts you have on how to provide continuous opportunities to our on-site employees, and thoughts on how to better engage with on-site employees. We understand career development is extremely important and want it to be a collaborative process. I look forward to hearing from you. LWatkins@inwk.com / Lisa Watkins, Director, Talent Development

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (10)

    "InnerWorkings needs to Work on the Inner within their company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Great portfolio of clients. If you have a high valued and profitable client Corporate leaves you alone. However, if that client leaves, there is no company loyalty to you.

    Cons

    Someone else’s review was absolutely correct . . . your happiness and success is contingent on having a competent manager who is also has the ear/respect of upper management. Good luck as the good ones are limited and if they fight for you, after awhile they become re-org out. Corporate does not value their employees. They pretend to care, so they can have a good public image. Limited benefit package, poor salaries and not a pleasant work environment. Management expects employees to do too many different tasks (a jack of all trades, master on none) in a limited amount of time and with no internal support structures or real vendor partnerships. Corporate also does not value its relationships with vendors, which is key component fulfilling jobs.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2015-07-21

    InnerWorkings Response

    August 4, 2015Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear you feel we don’t value our employees as our talent is a source of great pride to our organization and we’ve worked very hard over the years to engage those working both on-site and in our offices. Most recently we've kicked off a number of initiatives as a result of the feedback from last year's employee survey. We also work closely with managers to identify internal talent and provide opportunities across accounts and regions. I'm proud to share that this past year we had a record number of promotions and position/account transfers. I would greatly appreciate any thoughts you have on how we can continue positive communication to all of our employees, and any specific feedback on management issues that we can address head on. Feel free to e-mail me directly at jkrebs@inwk.com. Thank you again. - Jennifer Krebs, SVP, HR

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Bad place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Medical, dental benefits. Can't think of anything else.

    Cons

    Creative accounting, financial statements are not to believed. Upper management is way out of touch, don't seem to work for the same company I did. Middle and lower management lie like rugs and are completely out of touch with marketplace. Or graphic arts in general for that matter.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2014-10-19
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Cattle Call, hire and fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dress code is laid back, great food trucks outside the office. Free shuttle transportation is convenient with the shuttle bus (to Union, Oglvey, downtown, Red line, Brown line.)

    Cons

    Upper management is always changing. You'll have to move desk every other month. Everyone secretly hates it, but never leaves.

    InnerWorkings2014-07-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews