InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
InterContinental Hotels Group CEO Keith Barr
Keith Barr
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes long hours and double shifts are required(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work life balance gets a bit lopsided, however after a long career I was pretty used to it(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Any time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Concierge Member of Les Clefs D'Or in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    It's a home away from home!

    Cons

    I cannot say anything negative about this company

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-05-16
  2. "Great flexibility and Benefits, but very slow pace and lots of processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Denham, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great bunch of people to work with - work life balance is really respected (flexible working hours, work from home etc) - Good benefits package - pension, medical, good salary, free on-site gym with classes, subsidized canteen, staff discounts on hotels, training courses provided (but not externally)

    Cons

    - after going through a major reorganisation IHG is still trying to work out structure, processes, and ways of working which proves very frustrating at getting anything done. I was warned that the pace was slow before I joined, but apparently it has slowed down even further since this re-org to the point where staff are very frustrated. - Decisions are being led by the office in Atlanta who see the Europe market as...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - make decisions more swiftly (especially regarding budget) since work needs to get underway much much quicker and the staff are left frustrated. Also, please review the need for sooooo many processes which are slowing down the organisation and meaning we lack any dynamism.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-05-17
  3. "Customer Service Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MRS in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    I have more than 10 years experience working with different Hotels

    Cons

    A hotel need you to be someone who can deal with every problem that may arise from the guest living in the Hotel or the employees.

    Advice to Management

    I have more than 10 years experience working in a Hotel and can handle any problem and make the business boom customers are satisfied and will recomend their friends and family

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-03-09
  4. "Diverse work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every day something new, Good local management, good team spirit

    Cons

    Pay is low for our teams skill set

    Advice to Management

    They are too removed

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-02-14
  5. "Properly hospitable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denham, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Friendly people, lovely office, great perks.

    Cons

    Matrix management structure slows decision making.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-01-21

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    January 24, 2019Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello Thanks for writing about working with us. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your time here and the benefits that come with it. There are some fantastic people here, and we know that it's our people that are the key to our success. Thanks again for taking the ...

    Show More
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager in London, England

      I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group for more than 6 years

      Pros

      very positive culture and good development

      Cons

      No cons that I experienced, loved the role

      InterContinental Hotels Group2019-01-15
    • "Front Office Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front Office Manager in Leicester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      IHG points, Employee rate hotel discount

      Cons

      Not too good Work-Life balance, Salary

      Advice to Management

      Can't blame the management for anything

      InterContinental Hotels Group2018-10-26
    • "Lots of changes and not for the better"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pa to Vice President in Denham, South East England, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good salaries, working conditions and package

      Cons

      Huge re-org with new CEO. Redundancies handled really badly by the company, lost some really great talent. You are a number not a name.

      Advice to Management

      Everything is now streamlined to being the no1, but you have lost the heart of the company.

      InterContinental Hotels Group2018-10-20
    • "IHG workspace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance and Teamwork spirit

      Cons

      Compensation and benefits should be enhanced Far from the city centre

      InterContinental Hotels Group2018-09-27
    • "Fantastic company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketigng & Sales Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lot of changes going on but the company is really fun and gives you a lot of oppurtunities to grow

      Cons

      sometimes a bit hard to comunicate

      InterContinental Hotels Group2018-09-19
    Found 117 reviews