InterContinental Hotels Group "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

InterContinental Hotels Group Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
InterContinental Hotels Group CEO Keith Barr
Keith Barr
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours and insufficient staffing(in 48 reviews)

  • "I have no cons and zero complaints(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Personal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant in Denham, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    IHG looks after their staff with excellent emoluments and perks. Staff treated with respect and wonderful working environment with great people to work with and for.

    Cons

    Only con is where the head office is based but this is compensated by shuttle bus that is provided by the company to assist staff with transportation.

    Continue reading
    InterContinental Hotels Group2017-04-04

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    April 24, 2017Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello Thanks for taking the time to write about working with us. It's great to read that you enjoy the incentives and benefits here. It's important to us that you feel rewarded for your hard work. We know that when you feel appreciated, you can perform at your best. We encourage our people to grow and learn as much as possible. So it's great to hear that you can see a career pathway with us. Thanks again for leaving this review. Kind regards Chris - The Employer Brand Team

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for, Great team support, Great culture value"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Marketing Manager in Denham, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance, great work environment, you get rewarded for hard work and you feel valued!

    Cons

    Getting to office from central a bit of a journey. But they allow flexible working.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2017-09-11

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    September 13, 2017Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hi there Thanks for reviewing your time with us. It's great that you recognise the benefits of the positive culture and environment here - it's important to us that our people feel rewarded for their hard work. We also understand that a positive work/life balance means that you have the energy and feel motivated to do your best work. Thanks for sharing your opinion about our office located in Denham. We're about 10 minutes’ walk to a mainline station, which takes around 25 minutes to get into central London. Also, we're about a five-minute drive from a major motorway - the M40. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards Chris - The Employer Brand Team

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "My employment in Intercontinental Park Lane, London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Housekeeper in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group

    Pros

    The company give you a little points as different activities for teambuilding which creates good working environment as: bowling, pizza, parachutism, english course but the worst thing was that can't participate because the some of the activities can participate just the permanent staff and I wasn't the permanent staff because I didn't wanted it. if I have opportunity to come back again for work I will do it but in housekeeping department.

    Cons

    I left because they didn't give me a lot of chance for development just promises and I was working for them more than 2 years this make me sad because I really like it and I wanted to development myself in this company. It is really hard for work in the houskeeping department.

    Continue reading
    InterContinental Hotels Group2015-08-01
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MyHR Continuous Improvement in Denham, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group

    Pros

    Fantastic employee benefits such as huge discounts on hotel room rates, competitive salary and excellent development opportunities. Culturally, we have a warm and friendly working environment.

    Cons

    For me, the only downside is that the HQ where I'm based is not in central London, so it's not great for socialising with colleagues after work.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2015-06-26
  5. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Team Member in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Strong culture - Friendly working environment - Fairly effective management team - Opportunities and potential (many hotels within the group worldwide) - Role flexibility

    Cons

    - Low pay (basic wage) - Only short breaks allowed that don't count towards pay - Long working hours - Lack of technology that would make employees' job easier

    InterContinental Hotels Group2014-07-21
  6. "Great opportunity that had in hospitality industry to working with people and training chance to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time

    Pros

    Option to choose work Environment. Exceptional Job Benefits. Large scope of career advancement. Plenteous Bonus. Matchless Mobility.

    Cons

    nothing to mention so far.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-03-05
  7. "Company Expierence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst IT Process Management in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment, Free to discuss anything to the manager, Friendly culture

    Cons

    From my point of view i.e nothing for me now.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-12-12
  8. "Work Life Balance, but not the place for driven employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great corporate job if you want a laid back work environment that is low stress. If you can put up with mediocrity and an "its always been done that way" mindset you would fit in well here.

    Cons

    Lack of career development and upward mobility.

    Continue reading
    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-10-25
  9. "Housekeeping intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Housekeeping Intern in Davos
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing working environment - Great Management -Friendly people

    Cons

    -Language barrier -too diverse culture

    Continue reading
    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-10-09
  10. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Concierge in Shanghai, Shanghai

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the working environment is good

    Cons

    the pay is not high

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-09-03
Found 55 reviews