Intercity Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Intercity Technology Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Intercity are a family owned progressive growing business with a great and inclusive culture driving success(in 22 reviews)

  • "Intercity is a great place to work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "stops people thinking about working at Intercity longer term(in 12 reviews)

  • "Lots of moaning about the leadership of the sales team but there’s a new Sales Director(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Intercity Technology, a great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network and Security Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at Intercity for 2 years now and feel the Company has a great culture and is invested in the employees, they always seek to "Do the right thing" by the employees and the customers alike. They have a good range of products and the specialists to run the service well.

    Cons

    Not much to say, I've had a great 2 years here.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-12-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The A Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intercity are a family owned progressive growing business with a great and inclusive culture driving success. Among my almost 200 colleagues are some real superstars driving change and evolution creating a fully converged IT and Comms business supported by managed services. Our customers love Intercity and the service they receive which has driven the NPS off the chart to 43+. We're always hiring people who can add to the culture, and put customers first. If you're looking for a new career - take a look.

    Cons

    Traffic in Birmingham - but that's not Intercity's fault!

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Breath of fresh air."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Great place to work * Everyone is friendly * Flexibility

    Cons

    There are not any cons.

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2020-03-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great, fun place to work!

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons, the company is always improving!

    Intercity Technology2019-12-05
  5. "A great SMB business, trying to be too corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some great people Central location Good commercials on mobile and connectivity Smart UC product Good earning potential (if you work for it)

    Cons

    A new management team was brought it (who are no longer there) who changed a lot for the good but also a lot for the bad. Q-What is the quickest way to take motivation away from a salesperson? A- Mess around with their hard earned commission. Can you believe that they introduced a churn structure that would take away commission for Churning accounts! Yes, I get it drives the right behaviour to a certain extent, but when people in customer service are not penalised for the service they deliver and the sales person is as they are head of the account, that it sure to ruffle some feathers. Many occasions I was deducted large amounts for issues out of my control. The business also needs to look at an on-site telephony solution (if not already done) as not all business’s want to bolt onto the back of someone else’s solution that they will never own. Certain people there (not in sales) think they own the business and simply think they have a high horse. It’s a real shame, because this business would be much bigger and much more successful if they listened to their people

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-12-09
  6. "Changes always being made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company are trying to evolve within the markets they are working within. The staff in the main are happy enough with reasonable working conditions

    Cons

    I question whether the company leadership really understands what they are trying to achieve as there have been changes taking place for many years. The CEO I believe is some what out of his depth but he would never look at himself and ask the question , am I really up to the mark

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-12-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Dont ever work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Telesales in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This place doesnt have any pros

    Cons

    Bunch of bullies! HR are a joke! They talk about an open door policy but it doesnt exist! More like open yourself to further bullying ! The only door that is always open is the exit door! This is clearly reflected in the constant recruitment drive! Seriously dont ever work here!

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-08-30
  8. Helpful (6)

    "I want to leave but am tarnished by the Intercity Name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are not any !

    Cons

    There are a lot of us here that really detest the atmosphere & management

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Realistic ... honest ... changed and changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open honest culture Massively positive vibe Seems to have acted on feedback and invested in people ... given previous reviews and the current atmosphere, attitude and ‘company’ ethos and actions

    Cons

    Communications still not effective at flowing down ... vital in an environment that continues to change ... even if the direction is positive and progress good It will take time to complete the transformation ... and good staff and contributors need to be encouraged, supported and retained during change

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-07-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Passionate and Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FSM in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intercity Technology part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been working for Intercity for over 10 years and I have to say I wouldn't choose to work anywhere else. My Manager is firm but very fair and I am given full flexibility and trust to get on with my job to the best of my ability. I am supported at every step and honestly enjoy every day. The company are passionate about it's staff and regularly recognise the staff that go above and beyond. I am made to feel valued and trusted by my Manager and Senior Management.

    Cons

    Personally I can not share any cons that I have experienced working for Intercity

    Continue reading
    Intercity Technology2019-05-15

    Intercity Technology Response

    May 16, 2019HR Manager

    This is lovely to hear, thanks for taking your time to share your thoughts with us. As you will know, we have an open door policy, so please share any of your suggestions for improvements.

    Continue reading
Found 64 reviews