International Committee of the Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

International Committee of the Red Cross Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
International Committee of the Red Cross President Peter Maurer
Peter Maurer
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "The ICRC is the major humanitarian institution that offers a unique experience in the(in 21 reviews)

  • "Want to go more higher in another working environment to aquire more knowledge and skills(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons, ICRC is a very good employer(in 13 reviews)

  • "Huge pay disparity between local staff (resident staff) and foreign staff (aka mobile staff)(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping others in crisis, excitement, adventure, travel, colleagues, good career progression, good salary/benefits, good training

    Cons

    Not good for the work/life balance obviously. And work can be frustrating at times. Difficult to get interesting postings if you're female and not Arabic-speaking

    International Committee of the Red Cross2013-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "HR Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    The passion to serve humanity

    Cons

    Work structure is best for those about to retire from active practice

    International Committee of the Red Cross2019-03-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "It's good but losing its brilliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Usually it's meaningful work and I met some of the most inspiring people I will ever know.

    Cons

    The organisation is in my view losing focus and diversifying into so many areas that it risks losing expertise. Can be awful if you are posted in a bad mission.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on mandate, and expertise that comes with it, or you risk losing more talent. Listen to the field.

    International Committee of the Red Cross2018-11-30
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Life-changing - yet can be frustrating..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    My years in the field were life changing; I loved working so closely with detainees and families, as well as dealing with different militaries, police and state authorities. Moreover, there are simply some astounding people working in this organisation. The salaries are also excellent. Work/life balance depends on whether you are in the field or not (I am currently not)

    Cons

    Shoddy management, lack of career progression for specialists and local staff. HR at the HQ seems to increasingly chaotic as services are being outsourced and decentralised.

    Advice to Management

    Everything has been said already, so there is little point in doing so here.

    International Committee of the Red Cross2017-03-05
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Water and Habitation Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Job security, opportunities for travel, opportunities for promotion, Good salary, on the job training, holiday pay, sick pay...

    Cons

    stressful, heavy workload, difficult and dangerous work environment

    International Committee of the Red Cross2016-04-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Colleagues committed to humanitarian work x committed to climb up the carrer ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Protection Delegue in London, England

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met a lot of wonderful colleagues deeply committed to the humanitarian work, especially so called experts.

    Cons

    I met a lot of people in management who were committed to climb up the career lader rather then to any humanitarian principles. These people were very effective in getting others out of their way up. I have seen quite a few friends leaving the organization for another one. The management is not able to keep good ones. Salary i very high but it is not all after all.

    International Committee of the Red Cross2016-03-20
  7. "Depend on your career plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Permanent contract Learning fund Location Focus on being really neutral in conflicts

    Cons

    Low benefits Large benefit gaps between local and expat staff

    International Committee of the Red Cross2020-01-15
  8. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Officer in Beirut
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly professional working environment and ethical

    Cons

    Might sometimes lack monitoring old managers

    Advice to Management

    Search for new talents and expertise

    International Committee of the Red Cross2020-01-09
  9. "Good organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

    Pros

    Interesting and down to earth people. Good balance between private life and job possible. Flexible working hours/ working from home possible.

    Cons

    People that have been to the field will advance much faster in the organization than others.

    International Committee of the Red Cross2020-01-08
  10. "Good organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Officer 

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    more opportunities for staff capacity building

    Cons

    not much innovation for project or field activities

    International Committee of the Red Cross2020-01-05
Found 161 reviews