International Committee of the Red Cross Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

International Committee of the Red Cross Reviews

Updated 24 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
International Committee of the Red Cross CEO Peter Maurer
Peter Maurer
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Active involvement in Positive humanitarian activities that improve lives(in 17 reviews)

  • "Want to go more higher in another working environment to aquire more knowledge and skills(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "The risks and dangers are real and everyone thinking about working for the ICRC in the field needs to be aware of that(in 12 reviews)

  • "Souvent une impression de "service militaire" pendant les missions(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping others in crisis, excitement, adventure, travel, colleagues, good career progression, good salary/benefits, good training

    Cons

    Not good for the work/life balance obviously. And work can be frustrating at times. Difficult to get interesting postings if you're female and not Arabic-speaking

    International Committee of the Red Cross2013-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "HR Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      The passion to serve humanity

      Cons

      Work structure is best for those about to retire from active practice

      International Committee of the Red Cross2019-03-09
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's good but losing its brilliance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Usually it's meaningful work and I met some of the most inspiring people I will ever know.

      Cons

      The organisation is in my view losing focus and diversifying into so many areas that it risks losing expertise. Can be awful if you are posted in a bad mission.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the focus on mandate, and expertise that comes with it, or you risk losing more talent. Listen to the field.

      International Committee of the Red Cross2018-11-30
    • Helpful (5)

      "Life-changing - yet can be frustrating..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      My years in the field were life changing; I loved working so closely with detainees and families, as well as dealing with different militaries, police and state authorities. Moreover, there are simply some astounding people working in this organisation. The salaries are also excellent. Work/life balance depends on whether you are in the field or not (I am currently not)

      Cons

      Shoddy management, lack of career progression for specialists and local staff. HR at the HQ seems to increasingly chaotic as services are being outsourced and decentralised.

      Advice to Management

      Everything has been said already, so there is little point in doing so here.

      International Committee of the Red Cross2017-03-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Water and Habitation Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      Job security, opportunities for travel, opportunities for promotion, Good salary, on the job training, holiday pay, sick pay...

      Cons

      stressful, heavy workload, difficult and dangerous work environment

      International Committee of the Red Cross2016-04-18
    • Helpful (5)

      "Colleagues committed to humanitarian work x committed to climb up the carrer ladder"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Protection Delegue in London, England

      I worked at International Committee of the Red Cross for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I met a lot of wonderful colleagues deeply committed to the humanitarian work, especially so called experts.

      Cons

      I met a lot of people in management who were committed to climb up the career lader rather then to any humanitarian principles. These people were very effective in getting others out of their way up. I have seen quite a few friends leaving the organization for another one. The management is not able to keep good ones. Salary i very high but it is not all after all.

      International Committee of the Red Cross2016-03-20
    • "The field positions are much more interesting salary/benefits and compensations wise."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Program Manager in Geneva
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Being in a nice small town, close to home and in Europe after many assignments in far and remote places.

      Cons

      Obligation to pay taxes, low salaries compared to the UN, non existent compensations, little holidays...

      International Committee of the Red Cross2019-05-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great place to work, but difficult to grow within the organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate in Geneva
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great colleagues, inspiring work, feeling of accomplishment

      Cons

      Very difficult to grow within the organization, oftentimes unclear perspectives of your future

      International Committee of the Red Cross2019-04-29
    • "Interesting work, opaque and arbitrary human resources management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Geneva
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fascinating work with remarkably dedicated colleagues.

      Cons

      HR management is extremely frustrating. Salaries are blatantly unequitable, despite an organisational commitment to transparency and equity.

      International Committee of the Red Cross2019-05-09
    • "Good place to gather experience and reputation, bad HR management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Digital in Buenos Aires
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at International Committee of the Red Cross full-time

      Pros

      Good team spirit (not all units), prestige, opportunities to grow.

      Cons

      Very bureaucratic, reluctance to allow more flexibility on work schedule. Takes advantage of inflation to lower salaries (changed salary scales on existing contract using inflation as a tool).

      Advice to Management

      Cutting off salaries makes people miserable and willing to leave. Modernization should take less time, especially to allow flexibility to employers to manages work-life balance.

      International Committee of the Red Cross2019-05-03
    Found 127 reviews