Ipsos "market research" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ipsos Employee Reviews about "market research"

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ipsos Chairman and CEO Didier Truchot
Didier Truchot
562 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Can be long hours at times, but same as other agencies(in 111 reviews)

  • "Work life balance but that is quite common in research industry(in 108 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "market research"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research in Harrow, England

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing market research firm to work for.

    Cons

    lack of training in some areas.

    Advice to Management

    keep up a good job.

    Ipsos2018-04-29
  2. "Great people, could be better a company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRE in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a good place to grasp the basics of market research, learn about costings/financials and get exposure to a wide range of clients and projects. Directors and Line managers are fantastic, they support your work ambitions and help unburden your work load where possible

    Cons

    Tends to be a market research agency only interested in providing market research data- nothing more. We don’t go beyond the data and address the ‘why’ with a tendency to just be charting monkeys! I know the company is trying to address that but Directors and ADs on projects need to lead this change.. Working hours are extremely long (this is more symptomatic of the industry)

    Advice to Management

    Take on more staff

    Ipsos2019-09-21
  3. "Not the worse research company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telephone Market Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to interview people on a range of topics so you're always learning. Pays not too bad as far as market research salaries go. Friendly supervisors.

    Cons

    It can get boring. Not stable work as there are dry spells. This should really only be something that's done to earn extra money.

    Ipsos2019-08-31
  4. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices, good training opportunities, friendly people

    Cons

    Long hours and the pay is not great. However, this is the same in all market research companies.

    Ipsos2018-10-05
  5. "Ipsos Marketing Quant department: unhuman working hours, low salary and very questionable management practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in very innovative projects and learn latest practices in market research.

    Cons

    - Lack of staff which means you will work until late every day, you won't be compensated for that and if you don't do it you'll be considered as 'not committed enough' with all its consequences. I.E. for xmas period we were asked to work until late in the night and the company would pay for the taxis back home and the pizzas for dinner - seriously, not joking. - Clear preference treatment from management to some staff, basically those who join this practices and don't put problems to stay until late, etc. - Questionable practices, i.e. we had a calendar of 'dates' in the team and we were 'encouraged' to share any dates we had and even post the picture of the person. Again, not joking. - Drugs were found by the cleaners in the toilets of the building. The CEO sent an email to all the staff in the company asking to please be professional. - Except for management, the teams are really young and very few people stays in the team for more than 1 year, which is in my opinion a sign of something not working.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Take action and not just think about the external image of the company, but also about making it a good place to work, not just by organising drinks and parties, but creating a positive, transparent and inclusive environment.

    Ipsos2017-12-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with work from home option.

    Cons

    Quiet times in market research.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Ipsos2017-10-11
  7. "Market Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible job, perfect for young people and good salary

    Cons

    Can be a bit frustrating knocking on doors at times, and a bit lonely, but this is expected given the nature of market research

    Ipsos2017-10-16
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Ipsosaurus moribund"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Operations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ipsos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Still a respected name in the Market Research industry and the global reach of the company means potential opportunities for working abroad and with many colleagues from all over the world. Salary and working hours were both acceptable.

    Cons

    My position was in a global team so this review relates only to the wider Ipsos business and not directly to Ipsos Mori (UK). This French company is so encumbered by bureaucracy that it beggars belief. The senior management pay only the barest of lip service to change management programs that are sorely needed, and that they are supposed sponsors of. The general working culture is unsupportive. Global teams are hamstrung by no clear global mandate and by lack of travel budget and funding to deliver. I have witnessed many projects fail or be unnecessarily dragged out through a basic lack of support, and countless talented colleagues leave through frustration at not being given the opportunity to make a difference.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff to deliver what you have hired them to deliver. Give them an environment to succeed.

    Ipsos2017-05-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Review of London office (Ipsos MORI)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ipsos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really interesting work, good variety, long leash to do things that interest you, good training in market research methods and high quality research (depending on the department). Good name for the CV.

    Cons

    Pretty low paid, possibly on a par with other major agencies. Depending on the department, very long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Be less opaque in why you're doing things, hiding the reasons just makes people annoyed even if they can't change things. Raise the salaries, you're losing good people for little gain.

    Ipsos2017-05-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good but hard to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ipsos

    Pros

    Well structured, exposure to current affairs

    Cons

    Hard to progress within the company, most of the Market Research Executive leave after 2 years

    Ipsos2016-02-03
Found 108 reviews