Iress Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iress Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Iress CEO Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sociable company, great working environment(in 20 reviews)

  • "Slick recruitment and onboarding process - professionally handled by some great people which created a fantastic first impression of the company(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "No career progression possible due to lack of movement higher-up(in 9 reviews)

  • "Too eager to please clients end up missing deadline or working long hours to get something across the line(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work and to develop your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Team Leader in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A company that cares about it's workforce, encourages them to develop in their roles and that is at the forefront of its industry. Having worked for Iress for 15 years I can happily recommend them as a very good employer to work for. During my time I have been continually encouraged to develop my skills and move forward with my career. Having started my time here in the frontline Support Department I have progressed through the Product Management team into my current role as Delivery Team Lead (taking in 8 different roles in 15 years). The management structure is very flat, the focus firmly placed on meeting its client's needs, whilst all the time looking after people. Internal operating systems are all based on the latest tech (GSuite, Slack, Jira, GitHub, Zoom etc.) and there is a focus on staying up to date with industry changes. Whilst there is a strong culture on working hard (and in an efficient manner), there is also a good social side to the company with Friday afternoon beers, regular social events and a strong community spirit. The company also takes it's corporate responsibilities seriously and the charitable work it does through the Iress Foundation is quite amazing. I am proud to work here and in 15 years have never been tempted to leave. It's the kind of place you join and then stay for the long term.

    Show More

    Cons

    Office facilities could be better as there is very limited parking at all sites.

    Iress2019-06-24
  2. "Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to learn - Amazing benefits for someone who is new to the industry - A fair salary for apprentices to start on

    Cons

    - Information overload! (Which is sort of a good thing as well)

    Advice to Management

    Always had amazing management

    Iress2020-01-09
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    +Excellent benefits +Good management structure +Rewards innovation +Flexible working hours +Good team of people in general

    Cons

    - traffic around the office park is a nightmare, with limited parking

    Iress2020-01-09
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Market Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family feel company but serious about it's clients and products.

    Cons

    A lot of things to get done.

    Iress2019-12-17
  5. "support engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DSRE in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday drinks and team meetings

    Cons

    Long hours and flat management structure

    Iress2019-12-11
  6. "Cheltenham office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hosted Operations Systems Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, benefits, salary & overtime, management communication. Middle management (team leaders not included) and HR are excellent, seem trusting in your ability to work and push you forward to improve. Excellent IT equipment and able to work from home. Some peers are professional and easy to work with. Upper Management are excellent at what they're doing and are always good at taking the company forward.

    Cons

    No career progression possible due to lack of movement higher-up. There appear to a minority that act childish despite their age and position in close proximity, sometimes unwilling to help at first which can cause serious consequences. Some have been there for so long they have become bitter and set in their own ways and in powerful positions despite being at the bottom of the hierarchy. Too easy to unintentionally upset some individuals which has unfair consequences. One or two managers unwilling to listen due to their ego. No appreciation for the amount of knowledge and tasks that get assigned to you and doing a good job with them. If you resign, upper management ignore you as you're no longer worth their time.

    Show More
    Iress2019-11-15
  7. "Productive & Fun Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great working environment - Everyone is very friendly, welcoming, and supportive - Flexibility of working hours when required - Quality of work over quantity - Opportunities to learn and develop - Innovation and diversity is encouraged - Social events that motivate a good work life balance

    Cons

    - None that I can think of

    Iress2019-10-28
  8. "Supportive and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people who work here are good at what they do and are always willing to help others Work is varied and provides 'on-the-job' opportunities to learn new skills Good flexibility for achieving work-life balance

    Cons

    Some people will find the rapid pace too much for them...but for me, that's part of the fun!

    Iress2019-10-17
  9. "Friendly and exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly teams Growing business Entrepreneurial spirit Opportunities to travel Very good technology Big Company (Listed in Australia) Innovative value adding product Friday drinks in the office every week Pool and table football in the kitchen

    Cons

    Time difference to Australia can be tricky

    Iress2019-10-17
  10. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sociable company, great working environment.

    Cons

    Can't think of a downside

    Iress2019-10-16
Found 217 reviews