Iress Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Iress Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Iress CEO Andrew Walsh
Andrew Walsh
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Sociable company, great working environment(in 20 reviews)

  • "Slick recruitment and onboarding process - professionally handled by some great people which created a fantastic first impression of the company(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "No career progression possible due to lack of movement higher-up(in 9 reviews)

  • "Too eager to please clients end up missing deadline or working long hours to get something across the line(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work and to develop your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Team Leader in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A company that cares about it's workforce, encourages them to develop in their roles and that is at the forefront of its industry. Having worked for Iress for 15 years I can happily recommend them as a very good employer to work for. During my time I have been continually encouraged to develop my skills and move forward with my career. Having started my time here in the frontline Support Department I have progressed through the Product Management team into my current role as Delivery Team Lead (taking in 8 different roles in 15 years). The management structure is very flat, the focus firmly placed on meeting its client's needs, whilst all the time looking after people. Internal operating systems are all based on the latest tech (GSuite, Slack, Jira, GitHub, Zoom etc.) and there is a focus on staying up to date with industry changes. Whilst there is a strong culture on working hard (and in an efficient manner), there is also a good social side to the company with Friday afternoon beers, regular social events and a strong community spirit. The company also takes it's corporate responsibilities seriously and the charitable work it does through the Iress Foundation is quite amazing. I am proud to work here and in 15 years have never been tempted to leave. It's the kind of place you join and then stay for the long term.

    Cons

    Office facilities could be better as there is very limited parking at all sites.

    Iress2019-06-24
  2. "A smooth on-boarding experience despite these "unprecedented" times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior People Partner in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having joined just over a week before most of the Company started working from home as a result of the Covid-19 outbreak, I have had a really good on-boarding experience. The technology available to ensure that we are able to maintain daily face time over Zoom has meant that I feel very included in all team activities and it hasn't disrupted my induction at all. The different communication channels can be slightly overwhelming to start with but they don't take long to get your head round and help you keep abreast of all of the relevant information about Iress, especially at a time like this. Iress are taking a very supportive and transparent approach to communication which is very reassuring for someone so new to the business.

    Cons

    Due to the circumstances I have needed to be more self sufficient and driven to make introductions, but you would expect that within my role and level. I haven't any others so soon into my tenure.

    Iress2020-04-02
  3. "Nice Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Data Analyst in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of genuinely nice people. Great office location in central London. Relaxed Atmosphere

    Cons

    All technical resources based in Australia hence still very Australian centric. Hard to trouble shoot technical real time data issues when Australia is offline. Renumeration is not competitive with similar roles in central London. The reward structure is very hard to understand and lacks clarity, from an individual's perspective it's hard to understand how to improve performance as the evaluation criteria appears extremely subjective. My performance evaluation stated "exceeding expectations in all areas" yet my bonus was 0 which is a large reason why I'm not longer working at Iress.

    Continue reading
    Iress2020-02-27
  4. "Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great place to learn - Amazing benefits for someone who is new to the industry - A fair salary for apprentices to start on

    Cons

    - Information overload! (Which is sort of a good thing as well)

    Continue reading
    Iress2020-01-09

    Iress Response

    February 21, 2020CEO

    Thanks for sharing your views on Iress. Our apprenticeships are important additional channel for talent at Iress. I’m glad you chose to join us and that you are enjoying work.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    +Excellent benefits +Good management structure +Rewards innovation +Flexible working hours +Good team of people in general

    Cons

    - traffic around the office park is a nightmare, with limited parking

    Iress2020-01-09

    Iress Response

    February 21, 2020CEO

    Thanks for the feedback about working at Iress. There are some challenges with traffic and parking at Warwick - we are doing everything we can to manage this.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Market Data Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family feel company but serious about it's clients and products.

    Cons

    A lot of things to get done.

    Iress2019-12-17

    Iress Response

    February 21, 2020CEO

    Definitely serious when it comes to clients and products...good to enjoy work too! Thanks for taking the time.

    Continue reading
  7. "support engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DSRE in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friday drinks and team meetings

    Cons

    Long hours and flat management structure

    Iress2019-12-11
  8. "Cheltenham office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hosted Operations Systems Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, benefits, salary & overtime, management communication. Middle management (team leaders not included) and HR are excellent, seem trusting in your ability to work and push you forward to improve. Excellent IT equipment and able to work from home. Some peers are professional and easy to work with. Upper Management are excellent at what they're doing and are always good at taking the company forward.

    Cons

    No career progression possible due to lack of movement higher-up. There appear to a minority that act childish despite their age and position in close proximity, sometimes unwilling to help at first which can cause serious consequences. Some have been there for so long they have become bitter and set in their own ways and in powerful positions despite being at the bottom of the hierarchy. Too easy to unintentionally upset some individuals which has unfair consequences. One or two managers unwilling to listen due to their ego. No appreciation for the amount of knowledge and tasks that get assigned to you and doing a good job with them. If you resign, upper management ignore you as you're no longer worth their time.

    Iress2019-11-15

    Iress Response

    December 4, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your review and appreciate the detail on both sides. When looking at the performance, we place equal emphasis on what and how they achieve - therefore it's disappointing to hear that your experience at Iress seems to have been tainted by the behaviour of a few individuals. Although you have moved on, I'd be happy to learn more from you - please contact me at ceo@iress.com.

    Continue reading
  9. "Productive & Fun Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great working environment - Everyone is very friendly, welcoming, and supportive - Flexibility of working hours when required - Quality of work over quantity - Opportunities to learn and develop - Innovation and diversity is encouraged - Social events that motivate a good work life balance

    Cons

    - None that I can think of

    Iress2019-10-28

    Iress Response

    December 4, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your review and your identification of many of the areas we focus on to make a difference to people's experience at work at Iress!

    Continue reading
  10. "Supportive and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iress full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people who work here are good at what they do and are always willing to help others Work is varied and provides 'on-the-job' opportunities to learn new skills Good flexibility for achieving work-life balance

    Cons

    Some people will find the rapid pace too much for them...but for me, that's part of the fun!

    Iress2019-10-17

    Iress Response

    November 3, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking time for this review...it%E2%80%99s good to hear you enjoy the pace of a hungry growing business, so do I!

    Continue reading
Found 221 reviews