Itsu Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Itsu Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Itsu CEO Julian Metcalfe (no image)
Julian Metcalfe
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Salary, team work, free food on shift(in 17 reviews)

  • "Free lunch if you work full time(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hard work, lot of pressure for team members and too much pressure for the managers(in 8 reviews)

  • "Team leaders would be paid more than us if we were to be paid hourly like them(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Genuine family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people - (far above other places I have worked) create an atmosphere and family feel that are by far the best elements - many companies lose this quality as they grow but itsu has managed to maintain this to their credit. No day is ever the same and it is impossible to get bored. Head Office is full of individuals (must be about a third) who previously worked in shops, and that helps everyone understand... the issues that the people working in shops have on a day to day basis.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some pros can also be cons and due to the fast pace, it can appear chaotic and disorganised - but that is due being a growing and creative business - itsu may be a frustrating place to work for someone who is used to working in large corporate businesses or those who like slower more deliberate decision making.

    Itsu2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "poor leadership but clearly a great brand with some very talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A well respected and loved brand. Free delicious food. Some of great people. Good progression opportunities within some teams. Head office gives back to the shops, who have it hard. Great impromptu outings and parties.

    Cons

    The founder is notoriously involved, rude and controlling which often causes panic and chaos within senior management. Some of the best people I've ever worked with have and want to leave because of it. Culture of blame. High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Take control of your position and LEAD the teams. Don't resort to blame and constantly driving the pressure downwards. Be supportive or you will continue losing your people.

    Itsu2019-09-06
  3. "Not bad, but too much hard work for what they pay you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Stansted Mountfitchet, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Yo can have free food every day

    Cons

    You have to do lots of cleaning all the time

    Itsu2019-08-19

    Itsu Response

    September 4, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks for your review. I am glad you are enjoying your free lunch every day, please do not forget about all the discounts you have on its'us platform, there are very good deals for the cinema tickets, stores, gyms and more. At itsu we take pride in our high standards, therefore ...

    Show More
  4. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Itsu part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team leader, and colleague, great salary

    Cons

    do not have enough social activities

    Itsu2019-08-16

    Itsu Response

    September 4, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks so much for your amazing review! it sounds like you are really happy in the itsu family and we wish you the best of luck with the rest of your journey with us! If you are not register on our its'us platform please do so, there is a social calendar with all the events ...

    Show More
  5. "Awful experience with its"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Itsu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -free food on shift -free leftover boxes after a shop closes -easy interviews

    Cons

    the company in my opinion is awful, they do not care about their employees. It does not matter how well you work and how hard you work, you are never rewarded in this job. Salaries are not competitive at all, you do not get much as a team member because you have to grow in the company and get higher positions before you get a decent salary. They cut hours as they please and make 1 person do 2 people's job to still... profit during certain periods of the year. The managers I have met in my shop were absolutely incompetents, but still in itsu they hire anybody even if you do not speak a word of English. I have even faced a sexist co-worker that made comments on me and my other female co-workers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    please do care more about the people that work for you. Prevent harassment in the work places from co-workers. Improve managment of shops as they are poorly managed.

    Itsu2019-09-12
  6. "Decent pay for the job, management think they know it all, all the time. And they clearly manipulate the bonus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Good staff discount Bonuses are great when you get them

    Cons

    Working hours at my store are terrible. We finish way too late. Management want the store to be perfect while minimising labouring hours (real life isn't a fantasy). Pretty stressful due to all of this. Management clearly manipulate the bonus and they think we don't know (of course we do, we aren't dumb).

    Advice to Management

    Actually listen to the input we give without just brushing it off like we don't know anything. Yes, you guys take care of all the staff behind the scenes. But we run the shop everyday and know it better than any of you guys.

    Itsu2019-08-20

    Itsu Response

    September 4, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks for your review. I am glad that you are satisfied with the pay and discounts we offer. At itsu we take care of our people and customers, therefore our food and health safety standards might come across very high and challenging but is all about providing healthy fresh ...

    Show More
  7. "Lovely place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture, support from staff and good benefits

    Cons

    There aren’t really any cons for me

    Itsu2019-08-01

    Itsu Response

    September 4, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks so much for your amazing review! it looks like you are enjoying your time at itsu. We wish you the best of luck with the rest of your journey with us! itsu recruitment team :)

  8. "Great place if you are looking for career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, people focused, fun and professional

    Cons

    Struggling to find any at the moment.

    Itsu2019-06-20

    Itsu Response

    July 25, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks so much for your amazing review! it sounds like you are really blossoming in the itsu family and we wish you the best of luck with the rest of your journey with us! itsu recruitment team :)

  9. "Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company, I came to London and started as team member. I am now general manager. Good support, a lot of incentives like bonus and awards. I have learned a lot and the company is getting better. It is good to be part of it. I am happy.

    Cons

    A lot standards to know, food safety is challenging as they want to be perfect all the time. I have not worked in many other other companies so I don’t know. I don’t have many negatives.

    Itsu2019-06-05

    Itsu Response

    June 13, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks for your review. I am glad that you are enjoying your time with us and you take pride in what you do. At itsu we take care of your people and customers, therefore our food safety standards might come across challenging but is all about providing healthy and fresh food ...

    Show More
  10. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Itsu full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company yo work specially if you want to grow. Good environment with managers and colleagues. Fantastic support from Head Office who supports you in everything that you need. Free meal and drinks. Perks.

    Cons

    Busy environment ♻️ long shifts

    Itsu2019-05-26

    Itsu Response

    June 13, 2019Recruiting Manager

    Hello, thanks so much for posting your review, I am glad you enjoy working with itsu and you appreciate our support and opportunities to grow. We really understand what it takes to work a busy shift and we thank you for everything you do.

Found 124 reviews
</>Embed