J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
195 Ratings
  1. "Not bad for a part time student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair management and decent employee benefits

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and travelling home after finishing work in the early hours

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-21
  2. "Job at spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet lots of people Good training courses

    Cons

    Late nights and early mornings

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-23
  3. "Great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Fantastic coworkers, competitive salary, great training scheme

    Cons

    Unsociable hours of work, hard shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-18
  4. "Decent part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Saint Helens, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers Usually lively atmosphere Standard Wage

    Cons

    Quality of work heavily dependent on location. Poor decisions from ownership and higher level managment (i.e. area management)

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-30
  5. "Has many pros and many cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    - Staff discount - Decent pay for what it is - Decent co-workers - Opportunities to work your way up management - They do a lot of charity work

    Cons

    - If you're lazy, don't bother - Long hours - Early mornings and late nights, can really mess up your sleeping pattern

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-29
  6. "A place where dreams can come true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brecon, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a great team of associates, team leaders and Managers. Learn kitchen skills and become more independent with a good wage.

    Cons

    As a graduate I would hope that it might help me progress with a job but I've found that for most jobs a degree isnt nessacarily helpful with development which is fair.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-12
  7. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    easy job to get

    Cons

    poor hours, poor pay

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-12
  8. "Good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off on shift, lively job and made some good friends. Good part time job while at uni and my managers were generally quite understanding when it came to my studies.

    Cons

    Shift patterns mean you can be working until 3am, have that day "off" and begin the next day at 7am. Understaffing is an issue, and different levels of work ethic amongst staff can be pretty frustrating at times, particularly when it's busy. Sometimes felt that other members of staff were not pulling their weight or that I had been assigned enough work for 3 people. Hours are unreliable and based on pub productivity - full time during Christmas period can drop to 2 shifts a week in January. You need quite a thick skin as customers get abusive quite easily (although luckily managers will have your back 9 times out of 10).

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-26
  9. "Great company to work for but unsociable working hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with great possibilities for career progression.

    Cons

    Dealing with difficult customers and members of the team not pulling their weight.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-08
  10. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very nice staff, treated well

    Cons

    sometimes late nights but thats all

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-03
Found 467 reviews