J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 328 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
145 Ratings
  1. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent environment for working in

    Cons

    always closing, so get home late

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  3. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good for overall development

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in the job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
  4. "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

    Cons

    associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  6. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

    Advice to Management

    Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

  8. "Brilliant but Tough Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

    Cons

    Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

  9. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  10. "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

    Cons

    Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

Found 328 reviews