J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 391 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
166 Ratings
  1. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy Work, decent people, music in kitchen etc, nice food

    Cons

    long hours sometimes - 14-16 hour shifts if it went bad!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review.

  2. "Whether to Wetherspoons?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time - while at university I was able to transfer between a pub at home and a pub in Exeter. The pay is good and they were able to give me shifts based on the days/times I gave them. My team in Cheltenham has been so friendly and social, I feel integral to the pub. There is plenty of opportunity to work your way up too if you wanted to make a career of it.

    Cons

    Too large a pub with multiple managers and lots of associates means you never really feel part of a team and simply feel like a number (Imperial in Exeter) - witnessed high staff turn over in this environment. A pub with only 1/2 managers is so much better as you feel integral to the team and will work with everyone at some point and get to know them properly. Hours can be unsociable if you work closed and weekends... but you can opt not to.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  3. "Good Part Time Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Southampton, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work perks Option for fast progression

    Cons

    Increasing responsibility without equivalent pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  4. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekend nights are a lot of fun to work. Great coworkers. Head office generally listens to you; they revised the tipping policy because of employees being unhappy about it. Nice regulars. Very decent pay for my age group. There's always a good atmosphere in the pubs; lively and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Can get pretty rowdy and there's often drama. I had to quit as the managers just would not let me book days off. They always "forgot" despite me taking the proper procedures. Working floor can actually be pretty stressful.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-05
  5. "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monthly bonus if pub meets targets

    Cons

    Early starts and late finishes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-12
  6. "Good place to start at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Teignmouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training Easy jobs Great co-workers Benefits (free food, discounts for you and friends...)

    Cons

    Customers can be pain Starting at “4”hrs contracts even when applied for full time (however I’ve been upgraded to 28hr contract few months after. ) Personal life vs work balance (you locking up the pub two days in a row, finishing 2am and then do opens two days later at 7am? Messes up your body clock)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  7. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% Discount when working and 20% when not

    Cons

    Over worked and underpaid

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-05
  8. "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Tiverton, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and good bonus

    Cons

    Long hours and long days

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  9. "Competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Abercarn, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good workmanship and good pay,fair place to work

    Cons

    Not many opportunities there Biased management Lack of career progression Also lack of training opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Offer more staff training opportunities Improve staff communication Improve biased authority

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Teignmouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Discounts Free food on 6+ hours shifts

    Cons

    Can be a bit stressful

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-11
Found 391 reviews