J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Associate Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
148 Ratings
  1. "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

    Cons

    associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  2. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you feel the hours are good and there is flexibility with shifts. However, there are a couple of points that you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  4. "Brilliant but Tough Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

    Cons

    Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

  5. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  6. "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

    Cons

    Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

  7. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

  8. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Associate in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -very good under 18 pay

    Cons

    -customers: they are never right

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your feedback

  9. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  10. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
Found 335 reviews