J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 13 November 2018
197 reviews

Filter

Filter

Bar Associate

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
87 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working" (in 51 reviews)

  • "Best staff benefits I've ever recieved (50% off food whilst working)" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (have done up to 12 hour shifts before)" (in 112 reviews)

  • "They reduced the hours in the contract to improve work life balance but in reality you are always there longer than your rotary" (in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They work hard to provide a lot of training for you, encouraging you to be the best you can be. It's great to be in a company that cares about its staff progress. Bonuses are pretty sweet.

    Cons

    It can be a very stressful environment. You do eventually get used to it though. There is also a quick turnover for a lot of staff. It pretty much can take over your life.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice for management.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your positive review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  2. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the pubs
    50% on shift discount
    20% when out with friends and family
    Great personal development opp

    Cons

    Late night finishes and early starts

    Advice to Management

    Management of Associates could be better as it is always certain people who carryout the majority of the work

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    8 Oct 2018 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  3. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are usually friendly people that work there, and a fun working environment. They also provide food and drink discount when on shift and not on shift.

    Cons

    You work very late, way past the closing time in most cases. The job does tend to give physical difficulties after a while, such as problems with your back. Safety in managing heaving things and standing up for long periods of time is quite neglected.

    Advice to Management

    Employ people who are friendly to staff, as well as efficient/experienced, as abrasion between staff is the commonest pattern i see.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for leaving some feedback, all feedback is discussed in our weekly meetings.


  4. "An Interesting Experience Of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate
    Former Employee - Bar Associate

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Discounted food, paid online training, friendly colleagues. Chance for progression from Bar Associate to Pub Manager not unknown.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and clientele can be unfriendly.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you.


  5. "People are nice but shifts can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Weekly pay
    Friendly Staff
    Staff discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Poor training
    Long shifts
    Bad management
    Unexpected hours

    Advice to Management

    Better training should be provided on key as[eats of the job.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. if you feel there are areas you need additional training support we would urge you to get in contact with the training team at head office.


  6. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Chatham, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Chatham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Staff were friendly and welcoming

    Cons

    I applied to be bar staff ergo work on the bar but was also expected to wait tables. Not a strong suit for me and had I known I probably wouldn't have applied for the job.
    I earned 18y/o minimum wage while people older than me got paid for for doing the same job

    Advice to Management

    Change the wage gaps!!

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback.
    We are sorry you didn't have a great experience. We have recently changed our pay structure so everyone over the age of 18 years are on the... More


  7. "Good introduction to bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay
    People are sociable
    If you want to go on to work in a slightly nicer pub or bar but need the experience this is a good place to start as they will teach you the basics of pulling pints and simple hygiene stuff.
    If you need to find a local dealer someone in the kitchen can probably hook you up.
    It's a fun job and time moves fairly quickly. You get to meet lots of new people.

    Cons

    The work can be a little soul-sucking.
    If you don't like gossip and petty work fights you might find it a bit stressful.
    Managers don't get treated well at all so they tend to not care about their job, your job, or anyone else in the building. Don't go in expecting fair treatment from them as they're stressed and dgaf.
    I had to call up head office a few times over pay disputes that my manager didn't want to have to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees will do better if you treat them better, I promise!

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Newbury, England
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, great staff, by the book and official

    Cons

    Very meticulous, long hours


  9. "Great people but wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Birmingham, England
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people and managers who become best mates.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and the customers can be abusive.


  10. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Guaranteed minimum hours scheme, one on one reviews With the pub manager, great chances to move up in the work place and decent pay compared to other large companies.

    Cons

    Can be late shifts and never know if it will be busy or not.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with the staff.