J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Bar Associate

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 230 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
99 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

    Advice to Management

    Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent environment for working in

    Cons

    always closing, so get home late

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  3. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good for overall development

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in the job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
  4. "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

    Cons

    associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  6. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  7. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

  8. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  9. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  10. "Really good company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It’s a really good companyto work for, pay every Friday and benefits are good!

    Cons

    Depending on what site you’re at, the hours can be long and late nights too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
Found 230 reviews