J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
102 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

    Advice to Management

    Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

  2. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  3. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

  4. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  5. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  6. "Really good company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a really good companyto work for, pay every Friday and benefits are good!

    Cons

    Depending on what site you’re at, the hours can be long and late nights too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  7. "Decent first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bar work is enjoyable and there are lots of opportunities to learn and progress.

    Cons

    Long hours, difficult customers, not always supported by management.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your feedback.

  8. "Best job I've had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Strong team that work hard so the job is rarely stressful despite being very busy Very well paid holiday days Flexibility with shifts

    Cons

    Last minute rota changes Occasional inconvenient hours (for example 15.00-23.00 which takes up both your afternoon and evening)

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the employee handbook more to ensure all staff are given their entitled rights

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear that you feel there is flexibility with shifts.

  9. "Good temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Opportunity for lot's of hours - Friendly young staff

    Cons

    -Poor management - Asked for up to 15hrs and was getting 35+ - Late nights and early mornings -Cutlery wrapping?!?! -Holiday was never approved

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. We try to ensure everyone has hours that suit them but appreciate it is not always easy to achieve.

  10. "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    No experience needed, great place to get a first job

    Cons

    The management think they are superior being and treat you like nothing

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking you are better than us

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-24
Found 236 reviews