J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Bar Associate

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 238 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
102 Ratings
  1. "Good temporary job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Opportunity for lot's of hours - Friendly young staff

    Cons

    -Poor management - Asked for up to 15hrs and was getting 35+ - Late nights and early mornings -Cutlery wrapping?!?! -Holiday was never approved

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. We try to ensure everyone has hours that suit them but appreciate it is not always easy to achieve.

  2. "Good for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    No experience needed, great place to get a first job

    Cons

    The management think they are superior being and treat you like nothing

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking you are better than us

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-24
  3. "Good for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Unpretentious, easy work. Nice mixture of staff from different backgrounds and ages.

    Cons

    Rubbish tips but... it’s a cheap pub I guess. Bad policy on promotion to management- tends to favour longest serving rather than suitability for the job. Rubbish Owner and his right wing nonsense plastered all over the pubs, even he himself comes in sometimes and spouts that rubbish.

    Advice to Management

    To manage someone is a skill not a right of service

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments

  4. "bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    flexible hours, 20% discount when in branch, 50% off on shift, good, fun and friendly crew of staff

    Cons

    sometimes very busy and short staff. Expected to do alot for the pay for under 21s

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Wetherspoon and appreciated the employee discount and our approach to flexible working. We wish you every success with your future.

  5. "Great for students and people who do not care about the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    JD Wetherspoon tends to employ young people, who are just working there part-time whilst studying, or over the summer only, this creating new friendships with people. Decent pay too.

    Cons

    Management is under a lot of pressure, which reflects on the associates. Everyone tends to be stressed out or just upset. Working for the company for 4 years, I haven't met a person who enjoyed working at the company. And I have seen a lot of people come and go (some not even lasting one shift)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-13
  6. "Standard minimum wage job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - The managers were nice. - I got to know some of the customers, who were mostly friendly. - Occasionally, there were good social events.

    Cons

    - To work at Wetherspoons, you have to be okay with late nights. I was at work until 2-3am regularly, and I know it's much worse at the city centre ones. - They gave me a ridiculous amount of hours, which is ultimately why I left. It was unsustainable. - It is quite sad seeing alcoholics waiting for Wetherspoons to open. - Bad wage, and the work could actually be quite intensive - No opportunity to get tips - No...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-06
  7. "Not awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GMH contract, so you know you'll be getting certain hours each week

    Cons

    Management are forced to only care about profit, long shifts and late nights with not a lot of room for flexibility

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments and if you would like to speak to us about your shifts please contact us PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bar and floor assosciate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Tamworth, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay The job itself can be quite fun and rewarding

    Cons

    The way management speaks to you can be very demoralizing I don't believe there is a way to work up the career ladder quickly at all Work life balance is not taken into account

    Advice to Management

    Learn some people skills

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is good to hear that you find your pub a great place to work. You can find out more about our training and apprenticeship programmes and how to progress on myJDW. Good luck.

  9. "Overall review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, if the pub hits targets you can get bonuses etc

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, very busy at times

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback

  10. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work shifts around studying or other commitments, bonuses can sometimes be good and good career progression if it’s what you want to do.

    Cons

    Tiring job, can be long shifts when you’re on the close and the hours are pretty unsociable

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback and hope the studying goes well

Found 238 reviews