J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 241 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
102 Ratings
  1. "Not awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GMH contract, so you know you'll be getting certain hours each week

    Cons

    Management are forced to only care about profit, long shifts and late nights with not a lot of room for flexibility

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments and if you would like to speak to us about your shifts please contact us PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bar and floor assosciate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Tamworth, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay The job itself can be quite fun and rewarding

    Cons

    The way management speaks to you can be very demoralizing I don't believe there is a way to work up the career ladder quickly at all Work life balance is not taken into account

    Advice to Management

    Learn some people skills

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is good to hear that you find your pub a great place to work. You can find out more about our training and apprenticeship programmes and how to progress on myJDW. Good luck.

  3. "Overall review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, if the pub hits targets you can get bonuses etc

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, very busy at times

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback

  4. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work shifts around studying or other commitments, bonuses can sometimes be good and good career progression if it’s what you want to do.

    Cons

    Tiring job, can be long shifts when you’re on the close and the hours are pretty unsociable

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback and hope the studying goes well

  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, management work just as hard as staff! Pay is very decent for just bar person, and the work atmosphere is always great.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours if you're on a close or early morning starts but this isn't too bad as you get free coffee!

    Advice to Management

    Relax a bit? Keep up the good work!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-17
  6. "Good as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Social, flexible and often good fun

    Cons

    Insecure, weekly pay, not a viable job when finished studying

    Advice to Management

    Guaranteed full time hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-29
  7. "Not Too Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities to progress if you're interested in the industry, better pay than many independent pubs or similar jobs, provide quite thorough training, management are supportive when dealing with difficult customers or situations, often opportunities for extra shifts if you would like them, being part of a large company offers you some sense of security and protection as an employee.

    Cons

    Experience is highly dependent on your coworkers and the atmosphere of the individual pub, long and antisocial working hours (although this is normal for the industry), can be hassled into regularly taking on extra shifts or staying longer than you were scheduled to, rota is only known for one week ahead so other aspects of your life end up taking a back seat, can be ethically compromising if you don't believe in the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to plan rotas further in advance and stick to scheduling employees for the number of hours they are contracted for.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-22
  8. "Good pay, and good people. but stressful often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The manager was lovely, highly understanding and one of the hardest working people I've ever met. Good people, highly social environment, decent pay for the type of work. Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dealing with customers in a pub is always a challenge. 90 per cent are lovely, but you will encounter less nice people from time to time. Upper management was remarkably organised, telling us we were going to have a refurb multiple times and never delivering. I knew people who had to leave their job because of this and nobody outside our pub seemed to care at all. Area manager was a bully. To new staff and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has to be more accountability from the top down.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  9. "Completely depends on individual pub you work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other staff members keep you going Quite good pay for bar work

    Cons

    Constant shift changes Called in early and made to stay on most shifts Managers pick on those “too nice”

    Advice to Management

    Treat to associates with respect and they’re more likely to help out

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We recommend you speak to your area manager about your concerns so that we can consider any improvements that may need to be made to the rota.

  10. "Kitchen/Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a large company and was offered a wide range or areas to go into while working there

    Cons

    They do ask a lot of you with 0 hour contracts so no solid hours.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13
Found 241 reviews