J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
104 Ratings
  1. "Good introduction to bartending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay People are sociable If you want to go on to work in a slightly nicer pub or bar but need the experience this is a good place to start as they will teach you the basics of pulling pints and simple hygiene stuff. If you need to find a local dealer someone in the kitchen can probably hook you up. It's a fun job and time moves fairly quickly. You get to meet lots of new people.

    Cons

    The work can be a little soul-sucking. If you don't like gossip and petty work fights you might find it a bit stressful. Managers don't get treated well at all so they tend to not care about their job, your job, or anyone else in the building. Don't go in expecting fair treatment from them as they're stressed and dgaf. I had to call up head office a few times over pay disputes that my manager didn't want to have to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees will do better if you treat them better, I promise!

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  2. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Newbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great staff, by the book and official

    Cons

    Very meticulous, long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-26
  3. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed minimum hours scheme, one on one reviews With the pub manager, great chances to move up in the work place and decent pay compared to other large companies.

    Cons

    Can be late shifts and never know if it will be busy or not.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with the staff.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-25
  4. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the pubs 50% on shift discount 20% when out with friends and family Great personal development opp

    Cons

    Late night finishes and early starts

    Advice to Management

    Management of Associates could be better as it is always certain people who carryout the majority of the work

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 8, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  5. "Great people but wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and managers who become best mates.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and the customers can be abusive.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible working approach Something different every day Decent pay for bar work (terrible tips though) Shares and bonuses to add to basic pay Work with a wide variety of people 50% discount on shift, 20% off shift

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Disorganised management Understaffed quite often High staff turnover rate No bank holiday pay rate

    Advice to Management

    Be more organised, rotas should be distributed three weeks in advance and seldom were. Increase staffing levels as service and morale suffers with understaffing.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 8, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  7. "J. D. Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Entry job Carrer Discounts Socialable team Friendly regulars

    Cons

    Very busy Some irregular hours Some rude customers Few weekends off

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay job but your team really makes or breaks it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have a good manager and team then it's very enjoyable and you don't really mind working. One manager of mine would always take a "yeah no problem" approach which encouraged me to help him out too.

    Cons

    Counter to the above, it can be crap if your manager jumps down your throats all the time ( I worked in 2 bars) No tips. You're not permitted to accept tips although you rarely get them anyway. I did pocket them when I got them however

    Advice to Management

    Lead by putting your team first and trying to accommodate their needs, rather than not listening to them and having everyone quit.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing but they make you write at least 5 words so

    Cons

    Late Nights Rubbish Pay Treated unfairly unless you’re a Team Leader/Manager

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect and don’t take their hardwork for granted.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trail by fire and urine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely bar staff and small discount on food

    Cons

    No protection against sexual harassment. Regulars allowed to treat female staff however they want with no recriminations. Customers made comments about my body which made me uncomfortable. When I asked one to stop trying to touch me over the bar he told me to go and kill myself. I asked a manager to intervene twice and they ignored me both times. Training given by new staff who've never been trained themselves. No pay...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff for all hours they work. Take claims seriously.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We do not in any way tolerate bullying in the workplace and if you can share specifics of that behaviour you have experienced we will address it. i would encourage you to please give the recruitment team a call at head office to discuss further.

Found 255 reviews