J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
16 Ratings
  1. "What an amazing place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Culture Brilliant staff banter Lots of charity opportunities Very sociable Enhanced pay after 12am Many more Pro's

    Cons

    Would love to work more hours, but due to budgeting that's currently not possible

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you are enjoying working with us.

  2. "A great student job to have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Birmingham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working behind a bar, full training was given and I liked being thrown in the deep end.

    Cons

    Weekly rota changes made it hard to plan ahead

    Advice to Management

    Have more consistent rotas

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  3. "Wetherspoons Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Pontypridd, Wales
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a good time working here.

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review and hard work during your time with us.

  4. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Great chances for career progression - Benefits are good (50% off food and drink during shift & 20% off otherwise) - your managers are hired internally and have made their way up from your position, and so better understand your interests

    Cons

    -the pay is a bit low

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear that you are benefitting from the discount scheme and the chance to progress. Many thanks for you review

  5. "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed it quite a bit

    Cons

    Hours weren't very flexible and they fired me for pretty much no reason whatsoever

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff more before you criticise them

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  6. "New start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Staff in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    left to your own devices and can work at a steady pace Management seem fair

    Cons

    Not much staff interaction and long shifts, especially for a new employee

    Advice to Management

    Provide more contact options throughout work and out of work

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 18, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will discuss your feedback in this week's meetings. I would recommend speaking directly to your pub or area manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Cheadle, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Discounts, All non-management staff are brill, bonus are nice,

    Cons

    Given the worst shifts for a social life to fit round uni, and nothing you can do about it when other staff on the same leave can have all the nice 9-5 just because they been there longer

    Advice to Management

    Be more fair

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a pub level.

  8. "not terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Manchester, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty flexible around uni work

    Cons

    It can get pretty stressful there

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours are good as well as the pay and you get 50% discount on shift and 20 % off shift

    Cons

    Seems like if you are new they give you all the stuff nobody else wants to do and managers get free food on shift which isn't fair

    Advice to Management

    Everyone should eat free on shift other pub companies do this

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 5, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your positive review

  10. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good environment, regulars friendly, can have busy and quiet days.

    Cons

    People above the power of those in the pub make life a lot harder than it needs to be at times. No routine

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

Found 42 reviews