J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Bar Staff

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
21 Ratings
  1. "Yes jd qwetherspooons wpub frinks cdrunk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Newmarket, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount. Very good for alcogol, getting drunk aTER WORK.

    Cons

    Hard work on eight hour shifts.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-05
  2. "Bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food on 6hr shift

    Cons

    Cleaning toilets when on bar Cut your contract short when something happens it not your fault Promise to take you back on when job comes back on THEY DON'T TAKE STAFF BACK ON

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-17
  3. "More waitressing than bar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Goole, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Can be a laugh if co workers are nice enough

    Cons

    Very busy Rude customers Poor training Asked for bar work but waitressed more

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-07
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are flexible with working patterns

    Cons

    The rota changed frequently at short notice

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-23
  5. "Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Exeter, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best people I ever worked with

    Cons

    Poor pay, managers expected you to have crazy flexibility and commitment without giving the same to staff

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-02
  6. "Poor Management and Unreasonable Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was a good team atmosphere among the staff, and there was a nice social aspect to the job when it came to interacting with the customers and your colleagues.

    Cons

    Very poorly managed. The weekly rota was all over the place; it wouldn't get finished by the manager in time so you wouldn't know if you were supposed to be working or not until the last minute. Also, just poor management in general; always understaffed and out of stock in popular drinks. And with all of this, you were expected by management to perform to unreasonably high standards with the bad circumstances, and low resources, and for minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-01
  7. "Hmm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with were hard working and so things generally ran smoothly

    Cons

    My manager had a very big power complex and so was often unfair and haughty

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-29
  8. "Best Job ever, go get yourself a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, great management, good company benefits. The best place ever worked. Worked at a few spoons and each one has been the same the staff are great and the management are always friendly but professional

    Cons

    you smell of bear at the end of the night

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-08
  9. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Hammersmith, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    More pay than some other companies

    Cons

    Work you as hard as possible, take advantage.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-19
  10. "Good job to build confidence working part time as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% off food and drink Flexible hours

    Cons

    Being on call can lead to sacrificing your work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-31

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews