J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Job has left me in pain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There aren’t many, the staff discount is nice and it means staff at other Wetherspoons will talk and ask you about the pub you work at.

    Cons

    They put you on the busiest nights straight away when you have no clue what you’re doing. The managers or team leaders then proceed to get annoyed with you when you ask a question because they’ve rushed you into the job. After being put on the busiest shifts two days in a row i could hardly walk for days afterwards because my legs hurt so much.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t put new staff on the busiest shifts, give them time to learn where everything is on the till and don’t be condescending, you were in our position once.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-03
  2. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Bar Staff in Saint Albans, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly positive company Good for students looking to work in their holidays

    Cons

    Time had to be booked off 6 weeks in advance

    Advice to Management

    Generally, everything is very positive but it would be better if staff knew about shift timings further in advance. When I worked there I found planning anything outside of work very difficult as six weeks notice had to be given and I'd know my sifts as little as a week before I worked them

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  3. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy interview etc, other staff were somewhat friendly

    Cons

    Treated badly, poor hours, poor pay.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  4. "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Discounted food on breaks Most colleagues do their outmost to help you when times are tough

    Cons

    Awful Pay Terrible Work/Life Balance Unsociable Hours Unfair Management Ridiculous Expectations

    Advice to Management

    Actually treat your staff with some respect. If someone is ill don’t pester them with phone calls asking what’s wrong with them. If someone needs time off, give it to them and actually remember that people have a life outside of work. Oh and actually pay us for all the cleaning we have to do at the end of the night.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  5. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Competitive rates of Pay, -Good Managment Structure -Good Employee Discounts. -Rotas done 3 weeks in advance

    Cons

    -Very High Staff Turnover. -Often felt understaffed, -Current Staff weren't overly friendly, -need to work 6 months before any chance of progression, -Wetherspoons customers are generally old depressed people waiting to die,

    Advice to Management

    -Aim to treat staff more like people rather than numbers on a spreadsheet. -communicate to staff when hours are changing better

    J D Wetherspoon2017-10-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback, All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  6. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun colleagues, flexibility, variety of work

    Cons

    Heavily enforced break times and a higher discount on Wetherspoons food, combined with the factor that you may be working a long shift that day and are in need of a hot meals, means you are forced to buy food there. Convenient.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 26, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  7. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can get the time off you need when needed.

    Cons

    13hour shifts from 12noon until 1am

    Advice to Management

    Treat all staff fairly

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-15
  8. "staffing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Waiting On/Hospitality Staff in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    meeting all sorts of different people

    Cons

    not enough staff on some shifts

    Advice to Management

    make sure you have enough staff to cover for emergencies

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  9. "Decent place for a short term job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun people Quick to learn and out into situations that challenge you Fun managers Easy to move up the ladder

    Cons

    Terrible employee retention Bad pay Quickly changing schedules

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-08
  10. "Worst Company I have worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun to work behind the bar.

    Cons

    Rude Management Long hours - Some 10 hour shifts and I would only get a break after 8 hours of working. Dirty Conditions Didn't feel welcomed into the team Rude about my health conditions.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe if you showed your employees some respect then they would stay a little longer and make sure every new person feels welcomed into the team rather than making them feel irrelevant because they only work part time.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-11-30

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 12, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

Found 44 reviews