J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
17 Ratings
  1. "Poor treatment of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexible working hours in terms of days you can work - zero hour contracts Good student job 50% off food

    Cons

    Long shifts, little pay - minimum wage. No appreciation of staff or their hard work. Unsociable hours. Not paid for close downs. They often clock out your hours if you are closing and even if you still have to tidy up you are not being paid!! No reference anymore - I worked there for over 2 years, one year I was the member of staff to make the most sales. I worked really hard to be told the manager cant give me a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff fairly and make giving personal references a requirement not just HR telling future employers the length you worked in the company.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-11-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 15, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  2. "Mostly good if you're a confident sociable person, can be awful because of the customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a sociable environment, discount on shift is 50%, discount any other time is 20%, my associates are mostly great to work alongside, lots of potential for extra hours. Most of the managers will strongly have our backs if a customer is disrespectful and there is reasonable potential for promotion

    Cons

    Training is non existent, you just have to pick it up based on customers putting you straight and relying heavily on the other bar staff. We rarely have enough staff on shift, which means sometimes you're working for hours at a time on 120% and then the closedown can take 1.5-3.5 hours. Unsociable hours, to be expected working on a bar, you can make it fun if you have a good working attitude.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 23, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback but we are sorry you felt there was not any training. We do have a comprehensive training programme for all employees from day one of employment.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Henley on Thames, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, especially in uni holidays, are generally fun Staff discount on food (although it isn't that generous and they still make a tidy profit off of you)

    Cons

    The customers The management All staff treated as dispensable Not paid if your shift goes after the time per the rota

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff a bit better; a drink after a busy Saturday night shift would be nice

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 11, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments

  4. "Good job needs more breaks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Brigg, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Its a great job with a good chance of working your way to management. Lots of hours even though its a 0 hour job. Very friendly management.

    Cons

    You sometimes don't get a break. I did a 9hr shift without a break. I think you need to work 6hrs before you get a break and when its busy it can make you tired.

    Advice to Management

    Spend abit more time training new staff, notice when staff are exceding and offer staff incentives.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    June 20, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    thank you for your review, we are glad you are enjoying your time with us. Breaks must be given and we will take a closer look at this for you.

  5. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team spirit, trendy bar

    Cons

    Unsocial hours, small premises can be quite cramped

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 9, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the review you have taken the time to leave, we monitor these regularly and consider all feedback

  6. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress Bar Staff in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work Fun people to work with Often social events

    Cons

    Ridiculous targets Management have no idea how to do basic things Head office comes up with unrealistic ideas that lose money

    Advice to Management

    Do a days work in the job and get to know how the people feel

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 25, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments and suggestions

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The food when you're working is half price, some drinks are actually free, you have a cloak room to put your stuff in. If you're a social person it's quite nice.

    Cons

    People there are awful. Management there fluctuates. Some managers are nice, some just make sexist comments. No one seems to know what they're doing most of the time, you get contradictory instructions and get reprimanded when you take one person's instructions over another. They don't train you well. Other colleagues were absolutely awful. Totally unhelpful, rude and arrogant. It's also a zero hour contract so hours...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire friendlier people and train people a bit more!

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 11, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your honest comments. We will be discussing these at our weekly meetings.

  8. "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexibility. Free company shares. Good ladder climbing.

    Cons

    Just a number. Don't always get a break. Too many things expected on little hours etc.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Kitchen Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Staff in Hexham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Given a lot of responsibility, and with time and commitment it is easy to move up the management ladder.

    Cons

    Long hours, and the kitchen has a tendency to be understaffed meaning usually more hours than the typical 20 per week for part-timers. However the branch I worked at was very flexible as to how the hours were distributed.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 22, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you saw the career paths available to you as an Associate - 80% of our Shift Managers started as Associates. The kitchen is a busy part of our pubs and we really appreciate the hard work of all our teams. I'm pleased the pub you were in showed ...

    Show More
  10. "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in London, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team, flexible hours, good for students

    Cons

    Hours can be unsociable, short breaks

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 25, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

Found 44 reviews