J D Wetherspoon Bar Staff Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
23 Ratings
  1. "Not bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment, regulars friendly, can have busy and quiet days.

    Cons

    People above the power of those in the pub make life a lot harder than it needs to be at times. No routine

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 3, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  2. "Good pay but left to your own devices"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for part time job Discount

    Cons

    No real training in how things work on shop floor, sort of left to your own devices in working out things and potentially making mistakes Some long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-19
  3. "Can be a decent way to find some bar experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts on food, can be a fun work environment, good for learning how to be bar staff if you want experience

    Cons

    Hours can be very long, work can be very demanding, high staff turnover

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  4. "good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    understanding and accommodating management very good

    Cons

    none atm only bee there for two weeks

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-13
  5. "Bar staff"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Staff were fab, work wasn't difficult, really good training

    Cons

    Really drunk customers, and very late finishes

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Crystal Palace Glasgow Bar Staff Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people on bar and kitchen

    Cons

    Poor management Inflexible hours high staff turnover

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "great for students - bad pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    standard bar work but the job is what you make of it, if the people are good it can be fun. Flexible hours, good for students

    Cons

    bad pay, often pressured to take extra shifts, 90% of punters are horrendous

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, bad managment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The other staff members were great, the customers were also really friendly and looked out for you

    Cons

    Late finishes, last minuet shift changes, no notice of shifts, bad mangers

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Staff"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Hospitality in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, pay weekly

    Cons

    Bad pay, not very nice managers, expect you to make your life revolve around them

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Job has left me in pain"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There aren’t many, the staff discount is nice and it means staff at other Wetherspoons will talk and ask you about the pub you work at.

    Cons

    They put you on the busiest nights straight away when you have no clue what you’re doing. The managers or team leaders then proceed to get annoyed with you when you ask a question because they’ve rushed you into the job. After being put on the busiest shifts two days in a row i could hardly walk for days afterwards because my legs hurt so much.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-03
Found 73 reviews