J D Wetherspoon Bar Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Bar Team Leader

J D Wetherspoon Bar Team Leader Reviews

Updated 24 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
7 Ratings
  1. "good place part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, very flexible to students

    Cons

    awkward hours sometimes, very fast paced

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-24
  2. "Great for part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Team Leader in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to balance part-time work with my uni degree Develop management skills, and perform a wide variety of tasks Fun job, so long as you like customers Wetherspoon managers are trained to be lovely and supportive people You'll make great friends with coworkers

    Cons

    Can be stressful/intense in busy periods Pay increase to team leader isn't enough for the extra workload Smaller pubs can often be understaffed I don't think I'd enjoy the job nearly as much if I worked full-time Tim Martin

    J D Wetherspoon2020-03-24
  3. "You will love your coworkers, but not necessarily the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Team Leader in Folkestone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Social job, rewarded when working hard, opportunities to travel, pub-to-pub transfers, (mostly) friendly coworkers, flexible to you, good for working parents, Guaranteed Minimum Hours are kept to (I would recommend to a friend that is willing to work hard)

    Cons

    Progression can be difficult depending on PM/AM, unsociable hours, managers not fully trained before running their own shifts, team leaders not used to their full potential, kitchen and bar are very separate, (should be working together more often) cross-train more staff, no work/life balance, thank-less job, understaffed more often than overstaffed, 6 weeks notice for any holiday, used and abused over festive periods and hours are then cut come January

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-02-12
  4. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Aldridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible holidays Decent pay Discount at all wetherspoons

    Cons

    Not sociable hours Can be a high turnover - Pub dependant

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-30
  5. "Good job to have throughout Uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Internal incentives, usually flexible on availability through the week.

    Cons

    Can be short-staffed due to companies restriction on allocated hours

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-04
  6. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a good team Pays more than minimum wage- but you definitely earn it! Always hours available

    Cons

    At times the place is understaffed which can make work even more stressful, late, unsociable hours- but that’s expected.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-07
  7. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, tips, bonus potential

    Cons

    Dealing with obnoxious customers all day every day

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  8. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Warminster, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team is like a family and 20% off food drink and hotels

    Cons

    Long hours an limited weekends off

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-23
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Whitstable, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Good team

    Cons

    Bar hours not good for sleep patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Team Leader in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is long term employment. Staff usually is employed on full time basis. Busy enviromet all year long. Employees are wonderful and hardworking people from all around the world.

    Cons

    different shift patterns and plenty of possibilities to work more hours especially hen business pick up around September until end of December.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-11
Found 21 reviews