J D Wetherspoon Bar and Kitchen Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bar and Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 1 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
4 Ratings
  1. "Fun Part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Falmouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, you know what you have to do to succeed

    Cons

    I guess it can be hit and miss with the staff you get sometime

    Advice to Management

    Be nice, Be reasonable, Don't put up with slackers and be the hardest worker

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-01
  2. "Hard work but good team dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours, good team dynamic.

    Cons

    Management can be inflexible and lacking in situational leadership skills.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
  3. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12
  4. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  5. "Great for students and people who do not care about the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    JD Wetherspoon tends to employ young people, who are just working there part-time whilst studying, or over the summer only, this creating new friendships with people. Decent pay too.

    Cons

    Management is under a lot of pressure, which reflects on the associates. Everyone tends to be stressed out or just upset. Working for the company for 4 years, I haven't met a person who enjoyed working at the company. And I have seen a lot of people come and go (some not even lasting one shift)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-13
  6. "Not awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    GMH contract, so you know you'll be getting certain hours each week

    Cons

    Management are forced to only care about profit, long shifts and late nights with not a lot of room for flexibility

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-24
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people, management work just as hard as staff! Pay is very decent for just bar person, and the work atmosphere is always great.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours if you're on a close or early morning starts but this isn't too bad as you get free coffee!

    Advice to Management

    Relax a bit? Keep up the good work!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-17
  8. "Kitchen/Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a large company and was offered a wide range or areas to go into while working there

    Cons

    They do ask a lot of you with 0 hour contracts so no solid hours.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13
  9. "Great people but wouldn't recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and managers who become best mates.

    Cons

    Pay could be better and the customers can be abusive.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-30
  10. "Anon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bristol, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good initial training, flexible hours

    Cons

    Younger people given preference over hours and promotion

    Advice to Management

    Make better use of committed experienced staff

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-02
Found 14 reviews