J D Wetherspoon Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Bartender Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
11 Ratings
  1. "Comfortable and secure. Yet lacking in challenge, whilst promoting job apathy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Eastbourne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Increases certain skills include social skills and team work.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours and lacking wages

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-07
  2. "Average job but made great friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    met fantastic people, learned lots about real ale

    Cons

    terribly done rotas (you wont know from one week to the next when your working) also it was not ran efficiently. Menu needs to be halved and so does the drink stock. Can be very very stressful if you tend to be one of them people who actually care about your job.

    Advice to Management

    We needed more hands on management

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-21
  3. "Great for 18-21"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and flexible hours

    Cons

    Exclusively my experience as I cannot vouch for another: Always understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Live a little, you deserve it.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly good training Staff were professional and friendly Bar was well stocked

    Cons

    Short staffed Overworked staff Lack of management Lacking group morale

    Advice to Management

    Hire more managers, put a greater focus on the job satisfaction the staff get.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-07
  5. "Good, but not quite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours, wotking around your day by day activities

    Cons

    Tips ..not quite..shorted stuff most of the time, people are coming and leaving so often

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-30

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 12, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  6. "working at weatherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bartender in Boston, England

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      was a good team spirit when I was there

      Cons

      Started employing youngsters who were not motivated

      Advice to Management

      Employ older staff who have better knowledge

      J D Wetherspoon2017-11-08

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

      Thank you for your feedback

    • "Fun, friendly but hard work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bartender in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Usually fun atmosphere, easy to advance, lots of skills to be learned, easy doable alongside university or college. Can transfer all over the country.

      Cons

      A lot of jobs that you'd think you'd be paid extra for. Can receive abuse from customers but this can be found in all hospitality.

      Advice to Management

      Staff are often made to clean up after customers for no extra incentive. Can be a deterent to staff.

      J D Wetherspoon2017-08-01

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      August 18, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

      Thank you for your positive feedback

    • "Wetherspoons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bartender in Kingston, East of England, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      Always busy! There is always work to be done and helps build customer service skills.

      Cons

      Some problem with management being rude, service in general is both underpaid and over-worked.

      Advice to Management

      Consider hiring more staff to cope with larger demand at certain time periods and make the pay equal to the effort put in by the staff.

      J D Wetherspoon2017-06-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Bad pay, unsociable hours, strangely I still enjoyed working there!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bartending in Southgate, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -Very helpful and friendly team; they were the main reason I stayed for so long -Some customers were characters; I met loads of interesting (sometimes interesting in bad ways) people whilst working there -There is room for promotion; I was never promoted as I was the newest member but I saw at least five promotions in the time I worked there. They really have a tough time retaining staff, so if you're productive then...

      Show More

      Cons

      -Bad hours! Don't expect to leave before 2am on a Friday/Saturday night if you've been working behind the bar. -If you're new, prepare to get all the bad shifts! (the Fridays and Saturdays mainly) -Customers can sometimes be rude; I'd say the majority are pleasant but others seem to think they're in a more upmarket venue! Cheapskates are the worst. Get ready to be moaned at for taking longer than 3mins to serve a customer...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Promote people based on competence rather than how long they've been working at the pub. There's too many team leaders and shift managers that cannot lead a team!

      J D Wetherspoon2017-03-10
    • "Bartender"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bartender in Harrogate, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      It's a good working environment

      Cons

      Bit mean that they ban staff

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      J D Wetherspoon2016-03-16
    Found 24 reviews