J D Wetherspoon Duty Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Duty Manager Reviews

Updated 24 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
8 Ratings
  1. "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Port Talbot, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Unsociable hours for most weeks

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-02
  2. "Too much for too little"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great working relationships Meet new people Free/heavily discounted food

    Cons

    Too much pressure Workload has grown and grown without much pay increaee

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-24
  3. "Duty manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Chard, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sociable and friendly environment

    Cons

    Can work long and unsociable hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-13
  4. "room for improvement, needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good salary for the amount of hours management work

    Cons

    long and antisocial hours, lots of hops to jump through to get simple things done, bias shift patterns causing a select from staff and managers being dealt an unfair hand

    Advice to Management

    need systems set up to make work hours fair for everyone, bias shift patterns constantly.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  5. "good company to work for, but very unsociable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Port Talbot, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    free shares, 28 days holidays, discounts in all pubs & hotels.

    Cons

    unsociable hours, abuse from punters.

    Advice to Management

    make a pub enjoyable & safe to work in get rid of any idiots that may make staff feel uncomfortable.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Manager of 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager On Duty in Chelmsford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay good bonus.

    Cons

    This company turns a blind eye to bullying it wants to bread a certain type of manager. As a manager myself I have witnessed bullying harresment discrimination it's ride through the company and they egnore it. Head office don't car the area managers don't care as long as the money is rolling in. If your face fits you will be fine if it don't they will manage you out I have seen this done to so many and I can't take it...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no point offering advice they wont take it.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-29
  7. "Job security is up there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager Mod II in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free shares, control your own training, flexible with hours, structure, bonuses, you don't have to be robotic, you're encouraged to show your personality

    Cons

    Sometimes work load can be too much, low staff levels, schedule is always changing so you don't always know when you are working which makes it hard to have that work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Promote a shift leader for every duty manager and buddy them up to improve strength on shift

    J D Wetherspoon2017-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  8. "Worst company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager ( Mod III ) in Wirral, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A few health benefit. Can't think of anything good to say about this company. Never been so dissatisfied in employment

    Cons

    Worked a minimum of 50plus hours per week on a salary so wages were not that great for the responsibly I had

    Advice to Management

    People have lives outside of there job, stop putting to much pressure on hitting targets

    J D Wetherspoon2017-01-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 12, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made. Feedback is always welcomed.

  9. "duty manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Duty Manager ( Mod III ) in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great training, always looking to promote from within, great bonus scheme, growing business so lots of opportunity to progress.

    Cons

    It's retail, so if you dont like working long hours or serving the public, don't bother.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the guys on the floor more, Tim is great at that, but its the middle managers in the company that need to listen to the staff and pub management more

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-05
  10. "Others exceeding the once frontrunner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The wages are good for non grad, and lower education like myself. Bonus can be good if not a little out of reach now due to cost saving. Also holidays, Shares and 3-4 week rota is good for planning around work.

    Cons

    Sadly the company is losing quality due to other companies now offering more competitive and in most cases better salary and bonuses. Senior management asking for a lot more for a smaller spend. Which causes managers working over contracted hours.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in hours, Invest in the people you promoted, do not just use them as people to blame when improbable targets are not met.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-16
Found 18 reviews