J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Assistant Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
78%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
3 Ratings
  1. "Part Time Kitchen Assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Wimborne Minster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Good Team Ethic Chance to learn new skills and train for other roles Decent pay and discounts

    Cons

    Short staffed during some key shifts Management could be more organised

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-25
  2. "Food was microwaved"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get too , transport, gets very busy and is very popular, for group parties and offices and on football match day

    Cons

    There is a strict dress code for entering the establishment, they to realise some people can't afford to wear expensive clothes

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 8, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for taking time to leave this review.

  3. "Customers and management need to show more respect"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    It was a job I could get in my local area at the time. An eventual share scheme. Some discount.

    Cons

    There were occasional bonuses base on wether a pub passed its internal inspection or not. Typically it would be 1% off of achieving, the same was said for the London area pubs I worked and the Midlands. The share plan was dreadful, they took them from me when I left?!

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 25, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for the review. We do offer fixed hours contracts for employees if they are requested, and we have recently increased our minimum starting rate to £7, and even higher in some pubs.

  4. "Not too bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay + Friendly Enviroment

    Cons

    Hours provided can be incredibly short

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2015-12-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 21, 2015Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and for your positive feedback. Please discuss any issues with your manager - they should be able to address them for you. Happy Christmas!

  5. "weatherspoons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    good training and development programme, plenty opportunity to progress, fast paced, busy, more than the national minimum wage, 50% off food while on shift and 20% when off for you and 4 others and bonus scheme when audits are passed.

    Cons

    ZERO HOUR CONTRACT....very long shifts!! not enough hours to go round!! To many people above you for example not just kitchen manager but shift leader and team leader so far to many people in charge at once.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2015-11-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 18, 2015Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we are really pleased to hear that you have lots of positive comments about the company. With regard to your hours, please take time to speak to your manager or Area manager about this - there may be something we can do to help.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very unfriendly managers and rude customers!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    You will learn to work with some of the worst people. Develop a lot of patience and also handle pressure!! very good for a start up role.

    Cons

    Colleagues are unfriendly, managers are rude and so are the customers. No flexibility. People working in the kitchen have no respect for ingredients and are absolutely clueless about cooking. Everything comes cooked and frozen. It just needs to be microwaved. Not worth it, even for the price they are at.

    J D Wetherspoon2014-09-07
  7. "OK"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work if you are a student

    Cons

    Long shifts and carrer progression only if you are friends with management.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews