J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "horrible experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Blackburn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    discounts - 20% after shifts all over the country

    Cons

    constantly understaffed, no chance to take an unpaid break, no chance to finish tasks on time, the pressure to work after clocking out from the system

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 8, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    It is a real shame to hear your experience was unsatisfactory. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent entry-level pay 20% staff discount (50% when on shift) Staff can make the shift bearable.

    Cons

    Long hours Job is mind-numbing and without gratification Terrible management Inflexible - rota given with 2 days notice

    Advice to Management

    Stop abusing staff

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful but good money."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You make good friends with the staff and they are the ones you can rely on when the shift gets tough. Bar Staff incentives on shift, win a free pint or prize brought in by management. Good rate of pay, 21 years of age and receiving £8.45, more than my friends in other jobs. Always busy and not bored 50% on food plus discounted soft/hot drinks whilst on duty or 20% on food and drink whilst off duty.

    Cons

    - Closedowns not the greatest. Grubbiness, floor dirty, not something you want to walk in to. Doesnt help when you have really bad anxiety and paranoia that you go home panicking unable to sleep youve missed something then certain people or managers will purposely rub it in your face. - Coming into work in a good mood but being put down by comments of other members of staff, nothing snidy or nasty just people complaining....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a kitchen shift leader check kitchens not bar shift leaders, they havent a clue how to cook some items of food! Close the kitchen at 10 or give it to a managers distression, if its quiet why waste staff hours and energy, use it where its needed. Allow equipment to come off earlier (providing cooldowns are followed) Bring back drinks on us. Tell area managers to stop being so tight on the hours and give them...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-20
  4. "Kitchen associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Pontypool, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working arrangments to suit your needs

    Cons

    very busy environment and stressful at peak times

    Advice to Management

    Manage teams better

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-06
  5. "Charaxter builsing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Castleford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with like-minded, friendly people and building good internal friendships. Almost always busy, can never be bored. Discounts both on and off shift. Giftcard incentives (per pub). Good team building and skill building opportunity.

    Cons

    Shift patterns can be all over the place. Pressure on busy shifts. Work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. The managers are excellent and work hard to keep things running smoothly.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Saint Neots, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and drink are very nice to have, 50% on shift 20% not on shift Extra shifts are freely available as very understaffed

    Cons

    Extremely short staffed, Almost no training. Unsocial hours Little to no work life balance Very little opportunity to progress Some very rude managers

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff and treat the staff you already have better.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
  7. "Tiring work but good friends made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Sleaford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually lots of opportunities for extra work (i.e. covering shifts etc.) Made loads of great friends working there

    Cons

    Long shifts can be very tiring Some members of management can be awful at times You need to be very firm (in the example of a disability / injury / illness) with what you can and can't do. Some members of management make you come in even if you're ill, and then you turn up and you're sent home again because you're ill (???). Bonus is okay but can be very small if you only work part-time. Work/life balance...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, and communicate with them. If they're ill, they're ill - don't make them come in anyway just to send them home again.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-13
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Constant bullying by management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Swadlincote, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Standard operating procedures are excellent. Customer service is usually second to none. Weekly pay, good staff discount and incentives of bonus, pensions and opportunities to progress within the company. Clean, hygienic place to work and generally great work mates

    Cons

    I've worked for wetherspoons on the past and git on great with my colleagues and management. Upon starting again with them ten years later one duty manager took a dislike to me for no apparent reason and would blame anything and everything she could on me. She would call me useless and belittle me in front of other staff to a point that when I became upset she would use thus against me aswell. Other staff would not stand...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give all members of management training in how to talk to and interact with associates. Address duty managers singling out and creating hostile environments for members of staff they take a dislike to

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-14
  9. "Anon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bristol, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good initial training, flexible hours

    Cons

    Younger people given preference over hours and promotion

    Advice to Management

    Make better use of committed experienced staff

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work colleagues and lovely customers.

    Cons

    Bad Management, Rude Management, Bullying from Senior management

    Advice to Management

    Listen to lower tier members of staff as they are your front line and should be treated with respect.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-05
Found 97 reviews