J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
54 Ratings
  1. "Fun Part-time job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in Falmouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, you know what you have to do to succeed

    Cons

    I guess it can be hit and miss with the staff you get sometime

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-01
  2. "Hard work, low reward, poor management."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many of the people I worked with were really great.

    Cons

    Low pay, weak incentives + bonuses, very irregular hours (shifts start any time from 6am to 6pm), resulting in a damaged sleep pattern, no set meal times, and deteriorated health and wellbeing both inside and outside of work. Management run poorly and with little consideration towards employees.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry you did not have a great experience and would like to follow up on the points you have raised about the hours of work. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Hard work but good team dynamic"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours, good team dynamic.

    Cons

    Management can be inflexible and lacking in situational leadership skills.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
  4. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  5. "Brilliant but Tough Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

    Cons

    Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

  6. "JD Wetherspoon"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

    Cons

    Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

  7. "Spoons."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  8. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  9. "Wouldn't recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  10. "Great for students and people who do not care about the job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    JD Wetherspoon tends to employ young people, who are just working there part-time whilst studying, or over the summer only, this creating new friendships with people. Decent pay too.

    Cons

    Management is under a lot of pressure, which reflects on the associates. Everyone tends to be stressed out or just upset. Working for the company for 4 years, I haven't met a person who enjoyed working at the company. And I have seen a lot of people come and go (some not even lasting one shift)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-13
Found 129 reviews