J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Associate Reviews

Updated 7 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
40 Ratings
  1. "Friendly but Tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Stockton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lovely staff and customers, 25% off meals on brake, they where very flexible with my shifts, and had a high pay for my age at the time.

    Cons

    very very busy and fast paced, didn't get to try new opportunities or different rolls which i was promised, wouldn't give me time off to grieve a family member, as I was the youngest in the Kitchen I was always put on pots and very really got to cook.

    Advice to Management

    Give more opportunities to staff and longer brakes, 20 minuets isnt enough if you've been on your feed running about for 8 hours none stop.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-08-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 18, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  2. "Hard Work but Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Kitchen Associates over 25 now receive £8.50 hour from day one and zero hours contracts have been replaced with guaranteed minimum hours. Plus all employees now get 20% discount on drinks for themselves and 3 friends.

    Cons

    Early Mornings and Late Nights i.e. 1-30 to 2.30am finishes

    J D Wetherspoon2017-08-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 18, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  3. "Alright place to work tbh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    50% off food £8.50 an hour Good atmosphere Always enough hours

    Cons

    A little bit 'clicky', as in promotions are given to those who may not necessarily deserve it but are more 'in' with higher management. Food orders end at 11 so expect very late finishes after cleaning.

    Advice to Management

    Give promotions to those who deserve it rather than your mates. Stop serving food after 10, nobody orders between 10 and 11 anyway.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  4. "Awful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brockley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Training provided - Nice working area

    Cons

    - Rip you off with working hours. One week you get 40 hours, the next you can get just 3 hours. How are you supposed to live with such uncertainty?

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-10
  5. "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good Atmosphere, Staff Discount. Good Training and excelled despite being the youngest member of the team. Pub very busy, the work is hard but fun, i enjoy working with my team

    Cons

    Applied for the role because it stated 16-20 hours which is ideal for a student. Initially working 2-3 shifts a week, i am now lucky to get one shift of 7-8 hours. Despite requesting more hours all i get is last minute texts or phone calls asking if i can work at very short notice. Had I realized this I probably wouldn't have applied.

    Advice to Management

    More communiation and better organisation. The On-line rota system is not applied and have arrived at work on an early shift despite being rota'd in to be sent home as not required, very poor!

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-08
  6. "Hard work, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Lisburn, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job to get Steady hours They do have bonuses for hitting targets

    Cons

    Poor working conditions Low rate of pay Not enough training

    Advice to Management

    Try to focus more on training the staff and building a better team

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wethespoons Kitchen Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Saltcoats, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff, for some reason this seems to be the case in most Wetherspoons pubs. Your fellow kitchhen staff will try their best to keep you right when you first start which is just as well as I will explain in the cons section.

    Cons

    For a company which openly boasts about it's "exellent training,"I found the training to be almost non existant. You are basically just thrown in at the deep end and expected to get on with the job. Fortunately I had team mates who helped guide me through this stressful baptism of fire as much as they could (even though they had a huge work load to be getting on with). If you are new to kitchen work, don't work for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to train your staff properly before they start and don't just throw them into the job like a rabbit on the headlights. Take home versions of the cooking guides/menu's & guides to using kitchen equipment would be a handy too.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-05-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We value your feedback and would love if you could get in contact with us to discuss this further.

  8. "Good company to work for (dependant on pub)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    33% off food whilst off hours flexible with time off great social side good part-time job

    Cons

    long hours can be stressful (like any job) should get free food on shift

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    J D Wetherspoon2017-04-21
  9. "kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    flexible hours, meets new firends

    Cons

    can be very busy and short staffed. high turnover

    J D Wetherspoon2017-04-20
  10. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it is extremely flexible

    Cons

    Poor pay which can be annoying

    Advice to Management

    Employ students

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-09
Found 96 reviews