J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
19 Ratings
  1. "My Life-long Career as far as I'm concerened"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Newton Abbot, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities for all. A company with integrity and admirable core values

    Cons

    Getting drawn into certain political generalisations.....which seem to be decreasing

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-17
  2. "Has its moments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Shawlands, Scotland

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits r getting better n wen working with good team, it's a great place to work

    Cons

    No social life, expectation to do extra hours without properly compensated.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  3. "Good pay, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meet some nice people, free food, progression opportunities and good pay.

    Cons

    Hard shift patterns, lack of communication from management team, lack of work rate from management team, made to work over and above your position.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Pay is ok Work with Good people

    Cons

    Expect to much and once on salary you don't get paid for extra work. No extra pay for bank Holidays etc..

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-25
  5. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    40 hour working week, great team, highly involved area manager and higher management. Fantastic pay.

    Cons

    High turn over of staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback. You’ve got some great experience working for the company so it would be good to understand your thoughts about how we can improve staff stability in your pub. Please have a chat with your Area Manager.

    Continue reading
  6. "Best of the bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Perks Pay Job security People

    Cons

    No menu input No product input

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-26
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Shares, discount, good wage, bonus, pension, free meals on shift, health plan

    Cons

    High pressure for some, constant targets to meet

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-21
  8. "Unfairness throughout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability Well paid Good friends to be made

    Cons

    Never stick to their policies Unloyal Poor breaks No well being No work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  9. "Will be well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Living wage, GMH, associate promise

    Cons

    The usual working in hospitality issues

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. All employees are offered GMH which is really popular.

    Continue reading
  10. "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, not much else

    Cons

    Long hours, no support from other managers, working overtime to complete tasks

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews