Find jobs for Kitchen Manager

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
19 Ratings
  1. "Horrible company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, not much else

    Cons

    Long hours, no support from other managers, working overtime to complete tasks

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future.

  2. "Competitive for this industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multiple regular performance based bonuses and free shares

    Cons

    Pressure to make return on investment.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your hard work and we hope you continue to benefit from the bonus scheme.

  3. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Career progression is great. - hours are good. - bonuses monthly and after each audit. - great training - salary very competitive for the pub trade.

    Cons

    - poor management who seem to get away with anything.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "`"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you're willing to work hard and graft then you will get places in this company

    Cons

    The higher up you get the more polliticking does come into factor unfortunately

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback

  5. "Kitchen manager review of job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Manager in Oakham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to progress within

    Cons

    The hours and be unsociable

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Well where do you start"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Staff working together Can make great friends

    Cons

    Really late finishes Middle management As a manager I was told where to go so I was moved many times to different kitchens. I wasn’t asked I wasn’t consulted and some of the area managers or unbelieveable, sly and thinking of their watching their own cause. Said they would take note and help but nothing ever materialised. Myself and one of my pub managers who we both no long work for the company had a great working relationship, worked hard to get investment into a site, we had to fight tooth and nail for it but succeeded.. we also have a strong friendship out o the work place now as we have both moved to different things.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-10
  7. "Kitchen manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Colwyn Bay, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits, 5% of your salary on shares, several bonus schemes, very good pension prospects, overall really good perks

    Cons

    Difficult to climb any higher, looking into rcm is really difficult as there are very few positions available and very difficult to find info on them

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  8. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re not “in” it you get pushed a side"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training scheme Bonus Scheme additional benefits; childcare vouchers, discount on food and drinks on and off shift. GMH contracts for non salaried staff.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No overtime for salaried staff. Unrealistic expectations One rule for one another for another.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  9. "Used to be a good company to work for!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Brigg, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training Discounts Experience

    Cons

    The way people are treated is dispicable a lot of bullying playground tactics.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 26, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience, We do not in any way tolerate bullying in the workplace and if you can share specifics of that behaviour you have experienced we will address it.

  10. "I wouldn't work for any other pub retailer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Andover, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, good bonuses if you do you job right, employee discounts

    Cons

    Cost cutting in some areas, mainly due to ever more rising overheads

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

Found 29 reviews