J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated 27 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
15 Ratings
  1. "Used to be a good company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Brigg, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good training Discounts Experience

    Cons

    The way people are treated is dispicable a lot of bullying playground tactics.

    Advice to Management

    When people work hard and commit themselves to you for long periods of time respect them. Also stop letting people get away with breaking procedures over and over again

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 26, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience, We do not in any way tolerate bullying in the workplace and if you can share specifics of that behaviour you have experienced we will address it.

  2. "I wouldn't work for any other pub retailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Andover, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good salary, good bonuses if you do you job right, employee discounts

    Cons

    Cost cutting in some areas, mainly due to ever more rising overheads

    Advice to Management

    What seems the pbious answer, isn't always the right one

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  3. "Perfect company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well organised, salary, bonuses, free meal for management also discount meal when you r off

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to work over hours

    J D Wetherspoon2017-04-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Newtown, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    bonus scheme is good, its in line with the pubs profits/perofrmance pension you are automatically enrolled onto pay is better than other retail jobs the managers courtses are rewarding

    Cons

    shifts are long at times working most weekends working evening shifts not great for work life balance

    Advice to Management

    a weekend day off every once in while reduction in working hours more frequents appraisals more personal feedback from head office callers

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great on going training and good rates of pay, great bonuses. Good value food and drinks

    Cons

    Sometimes the company makes bad decisions and don't listen to the pub teams. Lots of operational mistakes

    Advice to Management

    Have more one to one meetings with the pubs, work with them instead of trying to catch them out, we are a great company with great talent in the pubs! Listen to them they know what works not middle management who have little/no experience working in pubs or for wetherspoons

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  6. "It's hard work, but if you graft, you'll move up relatively quickly."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast - paced, no experience required, energetic workforce, fun colleagues, training provided, good stepping stone, competitive pay for the industry.

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work, high stress, early starts, late finishes, come home smelling bad, regularly work with idiots

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay rates equal stronger more competent staff. We need to be able to poach staff, rather than lose our best colleagues to other companies and other industries. There are often major bug bears that seep morale, upper management need to be more attentive to the negative aspects of the job such as forced unpaid over time and people creating rotas that regularly go against the manager's lifestyle promise.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-02-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 22, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for the review. Our starting rate is £7 and we think this is competitive, if you think there is an issue in your pub though please discuss with the rest of the management team. Rota's are a currently a key focus of ours, so if there is room for improvement in your pub please ...

    Show More
  7. "kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    good job lots of perks bonus scheme share scheme and if you are willing to work hard they look after you

    Cons

    long hours not appreciated sometimes always having to cut hours to be within budget

    Advice to Management

    keep smiling and look after everyone not just the hard workers but those with problems

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your 5* review - it's great to get reviews from a current KM - and we are glad you like some of the employee benefits we offer.

  8. "Km"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    job stability, career progression, bonuses, flexible working available. Get to have a laugh when on shift.

    Cons

    Can be overworked, can be very stressfull. Customers can be annoying! Late nights!

    Advice to Management

    Management dont understand the need for more help is needed sometimes and that we are not all superhumans like they assume

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our KM's are some of the hardest working people in the company, so thank you for your hard work - speak to your PM if you think you need more help at times.

  9. "Kitchen manager role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    I applied for a position with JDW because of the training they offer employees. I had previously worked as a 2nd Chef and wanted to move into a management position. The Catering Academy programme has given me the confidence to do that and I am now successfully managing my own kitchen.”

    Cons

    Late night finishes can put some people off

    Advice to Management

    Listen to associates ideas as your pub can benefit greatly from these

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    I am really pleased you enjoyed Catering Academy - we are very proud of it, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Please encourage Associates to send in their feedback, either via Tell Tim or otherwise - we agree their feedback is really important!

  10. "All round good company for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Busy environment , good progression. Good bonuses. Meet a lot of new people and a good work atmosphere .standards set

    Cons

    Long anti social hours, can be very stressful depending on higher management targets. Seem not to care so much about staff now and more about the target set and reached

    Advice to Management

    Be prepared for over time unpaid, new contracts in place give little flexibility on the management hours . Unrealistic targets sometimes given

    J D Wetherspoon2015-10-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 19, 2015Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we know all our teams work exceptionally hard, but if you are having specific issues please discuss these with your Area manager.

Found 21 reviews