J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
28%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
9 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It’s great to know this is working for you.

    Continue reading
  2. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have a laugh with staff

    Cons

    Long hours for full time

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-22
  3. "chaotic but good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Discounted food/drink Quick to train new people

    Cons

    Tiring + intense work Stressful atmosphere Poor management with organising work schedule

    J D Wetherspoon2020-01-09
  4. "Hourly pay paid every week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get paid weekly and free food on shifts over 6 hours

    Cons

    Long anti social hours which can be understaffed a lot

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-09
  5. "Not the worst, but not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Discount on food Pretty flexible with hours

    Cons

    Late finishes, the earliest I ever got out in a close was 1 am! Always stuck training new staff as the manager didn't think she should train anyone, I was left on my own on my second shift to train a new start! Last-minute guilt trips in having you come into work Managers were not happy if you phoned in sick (I ended up in a&e and my manager did not believe me at all)

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-23
  6. "Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Gorleston-on-Sea, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Friendly staff and team members who provided excellent support. *50% meal discount during shifts *Opportunities to increase hours above contract

    Cons

    *Pay did not justify the amount of hours and work I did. *Almost always understaffed so could be really stressful during peak service. *Really long hours and sometimes inconsistent breaks.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-06
  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Good team work

    Cons

    No major cons Bad colleagues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  8. "How do I quit my job when I’m in my probation I hate it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay seems decent enough for the hours you work

    Cons

    Help me quit do I talk to my manager or just not turn up anymore I’m on probation

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Overtime and bonus opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-04
  10. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get ended up being way too much for me to take. Singing that contract is like signing your life away, they don’t care about a work-life balance. They want your whole life to be about accommodating them. Back to the shift leaders - They are really rude and patronising. I hated the way one of them treated me talking to me like I’m dumb and less than her. You also get in trouble for wanting to change your hours, they will put you on the same job for hours which could be potwash and don’t let you do other things. They will then tell you if you complain that everyone has to do it and it’s not just you but you will notice a pattern of the Jobs they give you. Management also talk about the other employees. You are only allowed a 30 minute break and if you smoke that includes getting out of your kitchen uniform for health and safety purposes but other management will go about three cigarettes within a 2 hour period and wear their uniform. There has to be rules that everyone follows otherwise it defeats its purpose and it’s unfair. Another thing is health and safety - They use the same tongs and oil for the vegan chicken as they do with normal chicken which is disrespectful towards vegans. You are overworked and sometimes are not allowed your break and you have to ask which sometimes they will tell you no and then 30 minutes later take an extra break. Themselves. I would say do not work here. you will become depressed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 25 reviews