J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
25%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
9 Ratings
  1. "How do I quit my job when I’m in my probation I hate it here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay seems decent enough for the hours you work

    Cons

    Help me quit do I talk to my manager or just not turn up anymore I’m on probation

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  2. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Overtime and bonus opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-04
  3. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get ended up being way too much for me to take. Singing that contract is like signing your life away, they don’t care about a work-life balance. They want your whole life to be about accommodating them. Back to the shift leaders - They are really rude and patronising. I hated the way one of them treated me talking to me like I’m dumb and less than her. You also get in trouble for wanting to change your hours, they will put you on the same job for hours which could be potwash and don’t let you do other things. They will then tell you if you complain that everyone has to do it and it’s not just you but you will notice a pattern of the Jobs they give you. Management also talk about the other employees. You are only allowed a 30 minute break and if you smoke that includes getting out of your kitchen uniform for health and safety purposes but other management will go about three cigarettes within a 2 hour period and wear their uniform. There has to be rules that everyone follows otherwise it defeats its purpose and it’s unfair. Another thing is health and safety - They use the same tongs and oil for the vegan chicken as they do with normal chicken which is disrespectful towards vegans. You are overworked and sometimes are not allowed your break and you have to ask which sometimes they will tell you no and then 30 minutes later take an extra break. Themselves. I would say do not work here. you will become depressed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24
  4. "Awful Place"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Abergavenny, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staff, nothing else. Everything else is bad

    Cons

    Everything, all management awful! Area managers the lot!

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-30

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future

  5. Helpful (1)

    "they are liars"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Harrow on the Hill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THERE AREN'T ANY PROS TO BE HONEST ( you even have to pay for your own food or drinks)

    Cons

    lies, low salary, lesser pay if you work more hours, they make the salaries from their heads u can get one week 150 another 240 the next one 200.....they just give u whatever number they have in mind

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback which we will follow up, good luck in your next role.

  6. "Kitchen"

    3.0
    Kitchen Staff in Manchester, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite flexible Good during study’s

    Cons

    Asked to do so much, for so little money, especially in the kitchen. The owner supports brexit

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback, your comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  7. "Ridiculous Job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a easy job to get, there are lots of hours if you want them. Weekly pay is also a bonus and keeps you working for the next pay check.

    Cons

    Incompetent and childish supervisors create an unprofessional and unwelcoming working environment for new staff. Food hygiene was a problem when I was there (lack of hand washing, raw meat and cooked meat handled straight after each other without gloves creating a risk of cross contamination, chefs smoking in uniform etc). The food production is made to be idiot proof with everything microwaved (even microwavable poached eggs!?) but creates a job devoid of job satisfaction simply waiting for microwaves to cook food. Ultimately a very repetitive and mind numbing job with safety concerns due to a poor quality of staff.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings. we aim to create a work environment welcoming for all in the workplace and if you can share specifics of this and any other feedback that could help improve we would like to address it. I would encourage you to speak with someone in the P&T department.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Don't Bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Staff in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Very bad company, unprofessional. I was hired as a kitchen member in April, not that they only gave me the first shifts 12 hours in advance, but once I got into the kitchen I was expected me to know everything. I was shout at, I was accused guilty of stealing a kitchen tool that was huge by the way by one my co-workers, even though there wasnt any proof on camera that I ever did something like that, I was being treated with inferiority by the other kitchen employees, humiliated in front of others, I wasn't paid enough if I had a shift until closing time, cause sometimes the computer couldn't recognize the time i clocked in. I was never appreciated for the hard work and initiative, for example I used to clean everything in the kitchen as perfect as possibile when other members used to take breaks or to leave me with lots of tasks. Because I was under 21 the pay was horrific. 6.85 per hour is not worth it for the effort and everything that requires to work there. I took a day off uni once because they gave me a closing shift in the middle of the week, next day I was supposed to have uni in the morning, plus they were aware of my avaiability since I gave it to them when I was hired. On top of that, when I was about to be promoted as an Associate I was fired without 1 week notice. iterally i went on a normal day to work, i was in the changing room , and the kitchen leader told me to "have a word with him". Letting me know how i've been doing, and at the end of the conversation to find out i was fired. I had to pay my accomodation since I am a student and I had other type of payments to made. They didn't even care to respect the contract and to give me 1 week notice. I was left completely without a job and hope within 1 hour. Completely unprofessional. If you're a student don't bother to apply, they exploit you because you are younger and legally paid 6 pounds, where others are paid 8 pounds for the same job/tasks you do. They take advantage of students,I've seen this in other Wetherspoons too. Fun story : I dropped something on my nail toe when I was working on the night shift cleaning and taking stuff to the dish wash. After 2 weeks my nail toe got black and it started to hurt like crazy. I woke up one day with a horrible pain and I couldn't even walk to the kitchen to cook myself something.I called in saying that I can't go to work because of my feet, explained them the situation, saying that I will go to the emergency and i will present medical records as soon as I can(which I did). They told me I should have called in advance. How tf to call in advance if I didn't predicted that???? IT'S A MEDICAL PROBLEM, NOT A DAY AT SHOPPING WITH THE GIRLS. Anyways, on 5th of June, the day I went to work, I found out I was fired for I quote"not attending work due to the sickness" and "for not buying safety ktichen shoes in 3 weeks, even though when I got hired the kitchen leader told me" yeah, that's the procedure, but I'm not requiring my staff to wear that". And literally no one said anything about it since not many people respected that rule. During my last month working there they had gone through hiring process which I thought it was one of the constant hiring phases they go through every 2 months. Well, to put every piece together 1 month later and to find out, they found me a replacement without telling me anything was going to happen.

    Cons

    no free food during shift, bullying, not a nice atmosphere, paid uncorrectly, if you have any problem or if they see you asking questions about work you make them unconfortable. Even if you want water you have to pay, unless you don't wanna drink from the sink.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Kitchen associate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible with amount of hours undertaken Average pay

    Cons

    Unpleasant hours Poor team morale Too much responsibility for what i was being paid.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-25
  10. "Great place to work but not flexible hours"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Training facilities, Development Opportunities

    Cons

    Store manager plays an dominant role. If he/she doesn't like you then you life at work will be hard. You won't get enough hours unless they really need you.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-29

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 12, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

Found 28 reviews