J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews

Updated 24 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
7 Ratings
  1. "bonuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Melton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    really good bonus pay scheme

    Cons

    actually very difficult to achive anywhere near the top level of bonus

    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-27
  2. "Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment to work in

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets busy during nights

    Advice to Management

    None

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Tips were shared by a fraction with kitchen staff

    Cons

    Bad wage Minimal benefits Bad working conditions Poor treatment No respect

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff how you would like to be treated

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 4, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All comments we receive are discussed internally and sent to the area manager of the relevant pub/location. I note that you no longer work for us, if you would like to elaborate on your comments, then please contact us directly.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Kitchen Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Staff in Hexham, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Given a lot of responsibility, and with time and commitment it is easy to move up the management ladder.

    Cons

    Long hours, and the kitchen has a tendency to be understaffed meaning usually more hours than the typical 20 per week for part-timers. However the branch I worked at was very flexible as to how the hours were distributed.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 22, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you saw the career paths available to you as an Associate - 80% of our Shift Managers started as Associates. The kitchen is a busy part of our pubs and we really appreciate the hard work of all our teams. I'm pleased the pub you were in showed ...

    Show More
  5. "Good company to work in allows progression."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Sudbury, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Allows progression up to management.

    Cons

    Bad pay for what you do.

    J D Wetherspoon2015-03-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Interview and Hiring Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Brigg, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    I was informed during the interview that I would be paid around £4.60 per hour I would receive around 10-12 hours work per week (Part-time) Would be part of a large friendly team

    Cons

    Often busy and can be stressful Sometimes you have to deal with rowdy customers Local, you may know a lot of the customers

    Advice to Management

    I had a very positive interview experience and enjoyed the hiring process

    J D Wetherspoon2014-12-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "worst job i've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    will employ almost anyone with no experience. Bar staff are busy but treated reasonably well by industry standards it seems, (much better than kitchen staff). flexible hours

    Cons

    kitchen staff are overworked and underpaid. would be expected to work 8-9 hours without a break in a busy kitchen for minimum wage. shift leaders never got paid any extra even though they were supposed to be. would regularly have to stay 2 hours late because there wasnt enough staff. chronicaly understaffed in the kitchen, cant get employees to stay very long because they all hate working there. Mcdonalds are a better...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    hire enough kitchen staff and treat them better

    J D Wetherspoon2013-10-30
Found 17 reviews