J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Team Leader Reviews

Updated 7 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
97%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
8 Ratings
  1. "Uhh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Wimbledon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    If you have other responsibilities, this job works great around them with flexible hours

    Cons

    Very late and very early starts...horrible customers and flaky staff

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  2. "Bar and Kitchen team leader"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Bar and Kitchen Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that you work with who are in the same position who band together to help through a demoriliseing night

    Cons

    Everything else the company does not care about you unless your nose is firmly iserted inside various holes of management types. If you want a promotion, dont bother training and working hard, spend your time sociliseing with your higher ups. Get used and abused at a whim with out any thanks, any bonuses are subject to an ever shifting set of rules where even the management dont know what they are from day to day. Over all if your there for part time/ student looking for a bit of extra cash you might be ok. A career making company? Forget about it. Work for a company where you move manure from one place to another. It will be more engageing.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  3. "Wetherspoons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great bonuses if you work well. A good company to work for if you really want to go up the ladder, it's easy to get promoted if you work for it. More than minimum wage at most wetherspoons pubs.

    Cons

    In a busy wetherspoon it is a very stressful environment. Massive staff turnover in busy times of the year like summer holidays and Christmas which can bring the team down, as well as up. Training so many people when busy can be hectic.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you and I am pleased you enjoy working for the company - we, too are proud of the career opportunities we provide to our employees. Turnover does peak when we employ temporary staff for seasonal roles, and in lots of pubs we recognise the hard work our teams, particularly the kitchens, with enhanced rates, so talk to your manager if you think this is an issue in your pub

  4. "team leader"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good chance to progress through the company, friendly bunch of staff, nice place o work.

    Cons

    understaffed, giving expectations that are extreme as short staffed, only care about the profit not on happiness of staff.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your comments - I am pleased you are enjoying working and progressing with the company. Staffing is a really difficult area to manage sometimes, but if there are particular issues in your pub please highlight them to your manager

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Meh overall. Don't stay here forever"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Free lunches - Decent pay if you're young but it's not a viable option long term -Good bonuses but only if your pub is profitable

    Cons

    -Stress -Long hours -Childish "high school clique" culture in some pubs but not all -Always under staffed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews