J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
22 Ratings
  1. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for any hardworking employee Good pay Good bonuses Great support networks Lots of training and further opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer with you always being on call

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  2. "Never enough time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own rota, albeit having to work late shifts, some good perks. Build your own team.

    Cons

    Very late nights, constantly relying upon staff that don’t care. Forever recruiting to replace staff u willing to work and who call in sick continually. No time to manage absenteeism due to absenteeism.

    Advice to Management

    Non pub based management need to follow the same rules that is enforced on pub staff but don’t. Area & general managers are so far detached from what modern pub working is like but don’t want to hear what it’s like on the coal face.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No pub manager promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits like shares Great pay GM very involved Staff liaison meetings

    Cons

    Micromanaged Under constant threat of disciplinary No input in running business Very stressful No work life balance Area management/personnel - all friends nowhere to turn for support Made to work when pubs are quiet - yet graded on it

    Advice to Management

    Who looks after pub Managers? We have to look after all our employees but no one cares for us. I was told “everyone has families” when I complained My working pattern meant I rarely seen my child or partner

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-09
  4. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Feeling like a number

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry to hear you feel ‘like a number’. You have long service with the company so it would be good to understand how we can improve things. Please have a chat with your Area Manager.

  5. "Pathetic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    All the Other BAR staff

    Cons

    Area managers are of zero help other than to stitch pub staff up. Pay is terrible for what you put up with. No overtime pay if you’re on salary just expected to do it. Bonus is now impossible to get while directors get 6digit bonus year in year out.

    Advice to Management

    Take a long had look at yourselves and what you expect staff to do

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss further your feedback about your experience, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  6. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career progression, competitive salary, additional benefits, free shares

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons for this company

    Advice to Management

    As a pub manager myself working my way up from an associate my so I have been part of the management team for most of my time with the company. I think the company is good and heading in the right direction. Now further advice needed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
  7. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    42 hours a week, no split shifts, good money. The best employer in this industry by far.

    Cons

    High expectations from head office. Never enough staff to carry out tasks required to maintain jdw standards and drive sales accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to forget how it is on the front line. Be mindful of the staffing levels you dictate when adding more administrative tasks

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  8. "More positivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, enjoyable most of the time

    Cons

    The negativity from area managers.. pubs being pitched against each other.. no praise for strengths, constant criticism

    Advice to Management

    Be more positive with pub managers who are working hard on the front line... not everyone likes to sit in an office reading reports.. these need to be made sharp and quick to read if that is what is required.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-24
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    no cons to mentions for the company

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not a very rewarding career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very structured operationally Free management feeding Training in essence is generally good

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations with a outlook that 1 size fits all Will implement new procedures ie SOPs then change them a week later. Culture of fear and Paranoia. Doesn’t matter how hard you have worked to the senior management area and regional it’s about if they like you.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Tim and his political meddling

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

Found 31 reviews