J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
25 Ratings
  1. "Management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Feeling like a number

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are sorry to hear you feel ‘like a number’. You have long service with the company so it would be good to understand how we can improve things. Please have a chat with your Area Manager.

  2. "Pathetic company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    All the Other BAR staff

    Cons

    Area managers are of zero help other than to stitch pub staff up. Pay is terrible for what you put up with. No overtime pay if you’re on salary just expected to do it. Bonus is now impossible to get while directors get 6digit bonus year in year out.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss further your feedback about your experience, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career progression, competitive salary, additional benefits, free shares

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons for this company

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
  4. "Management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    42 hours a week, no split shifts, good money. The best employer in this industry by far.

    Cons

    High expectations from head office. Never enough staff to carry out tasks required to maintain jdw standards and drive sales accordingly.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  5. "More positivity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, enjoyable most of the time

    Cons

    The negativity from area managers.. pubs being pitched against each other.. no praise for strengths, constant criticism

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-24
  6. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    no cons to mentions for the company

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not a very rewarding career choice"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very structured operationally Free management feeding Training in essence is generally good

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations with a outlook that 1 size fits all Will implement new procedures ie SOPs then change them a week later. Culture of fear and Paranoia. Doesn’t matter how hard you have worked to the senior management area and regional it’s about if they like you.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Head office"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff, sort of like a very disfunctional family. Room for progression (but only if you’re bar staff... KM is the top for kitchen staff)

    Cons

    There are never enough hours. It’s great we are paying staff more but that has to come from somewhere... the hours. It’s so hard to actually accomplish anything within your set hours. No work life balance at all.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 20, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your pub manager or Area manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a pub level.

  9. "Great employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Wells, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay at all levels with regular reviews of pay yearly.

    Cons

    Hard work but it’s pays off! Don’t see why hard work should be a con though.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stick to your knitting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay at management level is competitive. Training available is interesting and aids engagement, but isn't necessarily transferable.

    Cons

    No real pay rise for several years. Reducing working hours is a benefit, but with increasing cost of living comes the need to earn more. Some decisions really need to involve teams in the pubs for sense-checking.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-13
Found 38 reviews