J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
17 Ratings
  1. "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good technology and systems, very efficient and time productive.

    Cons

    Must work every Fri/Sat Lost the personal touch, no longer feel part of the family.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce pressure on pub teams by giving time to managers to manage.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-25

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  2. "Pays reasonably well..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay Bonus- if you get it Colleagues- your team are everything, it's a shame those higher up don't recognise this

    Cons

    It's always "who" not what you know Inconsistent treatment of employees from pub manager down to associate.

    Advice to Management

    Expecting more from less will not last long term, the ideal is less hours but need to have a say in our headcount to enable this to happen.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made.

  3. "Can be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, decent stock bonus, challenging yet rewarding and you could be lucky and inherit a great team

    Cons

    Do your job get and your bonuses then you can earn some good money but with boardroom adjustIng targets to suit the share price it gets harder and harder.

    Advice to Management

    Relax a little. Set real targets by being realistic to each individual pub, trust us a little after all you put us in the position

    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 21, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made.

  4. "Hard work but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to build Career opportunities in a fast paced environment which builds a wide range of skills, being left with huge responsibilities and trusted ensure the business runs smoothly

    Cons

    Working to tight budgets with small staff hours, faced paced and demanding, mainly attract students and young workers due to social venues

    Advice to Management

    None

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-06
  5. "Pub Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent bonus and remuneration scheme. Strong support network and communication from above. Excellent training programme.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Potential conflict with problem customers

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 5, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  6. "managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 10 years

    Pros

    organised, forward looking company that supplies the tools to enable the manager to concentrate on the customer experience. always innovating and changing the pub landscape

    Cons

    often not seen as the best place to work at

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 11, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you very much for your feedback

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pub manager struggles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus. (When hit) Love the job Social being I around new people everyday

    Cons

    Pressure from above almost unbearable Management pay is falling behind other companies Head office frustration

    Advice to Management

    A good and enjoyable job if you can deal with the pressure. If you can make it in spoons you can make it anywhere!

    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    We appreciate your comments - it really helps us understand where we're 'at' and what work we have to do going forward.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pub Manager - High Pressure and Slashing of Labour Budgets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary and Bonuses are excellent if you can achieve very challenging targets. Excellent personnel support and well designed training structure. If you enjoy structure, can follow all, sometimes conflicting focuses from Area Managers, Auditors, Mystery Shoppers, Marketing etc without question, and can cope with hours budgets being slashed without notice, discussion or reasoning, then this is the challenging environment...

    Show More

    Cons

    Difficult to achieve work-life balance. Hours budget is incredibly strictly controlled, with daily emails if it looks like you are going to overspend by even 1 hour that week, and Area Managers usually phoning you also, which is highly distracting. Company has very tight control on Head Office costs, which results in errors and waste of money in terms of marketing, which can be frustrating due to the above hours focus....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pressure on Pub Managers is reaching critical levels. Hours budgets are tight already, be sure to be open to discussion and involve the Pub Managers, as sweeping cuts are making us consider our options.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments. Working smarter is a key focus, you're right - support and clarity on how we can do this is key, so that it does not have that detrimental effect you mention. One for further debate this week and on-going certainly.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Someone who cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing people and learnt a lot about managing people.

    Cons

    The job attracts 16-21 year olds who are literally turning up for their beer money at the end of the week. Hard to build a team out of people who arent fully invested in the business. Goalposts and budgets often moved about to suit senior management and bonus' becoming unacheivable. Unrealistic manning hours targets to meet expected standards with hours removed for price increases but not invested when volumes increase....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Before plummeting prices assess the additional labour costs required to keep up the standards pubs are assessed on. Make it easier to motivate staff teams. Look after those who really care about running a good pub.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-18
  10. "Hard work , frantic atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Stalybridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Meet all sorts of people day to day, decent enough pay and benefit scheme. Good sense of job security and progression if your ambitious. Good incentives to do well

    Cons

    Late nights, early mornings with no routine, dealing with abusive customers.. Expectation of the company in terms of work load! To much gossip and arguments among staff. Very hard work compared to other similar jobs in the industry

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you don't have a family if your working as a manager as the hours and shift pattern will destroy any relationship eventually. Get in the habit of recording things down and remember how hard everyone's job is

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
Found 25 reviews