J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
25 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company 10 years, they have turned my part time temporary job into a career, I left education without attending college or university, jdw have just paid for me to complete a university diploma! Believe me, I wouldn't be here today if they were an awful company to work for. You get out what you put in! Nothing in this world is easy, and customer service is definitely not. It's a challenge and very hard work, but also very rewarding, with the support, progression opportunities and monetary bonuses. People are whinging that they have no social life, well have you ever spoken to the person who completes your rota and asked for the occasional Friday night off? Jdw are a people company, but also the trade that you applied to, does mean working unsociable hours. Is it jdw fault you applied? Is it jdw fault you don't ask? I've met some of my best friends working for this company, from both sides of the bar! Jdw have supported me through my car accident, medical concerns, being assaulted and pregnancy, from adapting rotas to enable appointments can be made to the assistance from the legal team at head office. It's all about communication!

    Cons

    A job is what you make of it. If you look at it negatively, you will hate it. Look at the positives and you will succeed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-27
  2. "Great Company turning the screw"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic rewards package, share incentives and discounts

    Cons

    Even with a decrease in contracted hours, there simply isn’t enough time to fulfill your job role

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-21

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  3. "Used to be a great company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good technology and systems, very efficient and time productive.

    Cons

    Must work every Fri/Sat Lost the personal touch, no longer feel part of the family.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-25

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  4. "Pays reasonably well..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay Bonus- if you get it Colleagues- your team are everything, it's a shame those higher up don't recognise this

    Cons

    It's always "who" not what you know Inconsistent treatment of employees from pub manager down to associate.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made.

  5. "Can be great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, decent stock bonus, challenging yet rewarding and you could be lucky and inherit a great team

    Cons

    Do your job get and your bonuses then you can earn some good money but with boardroom adjustIng targets to suit the share price it gets harder and harder.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 21, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made.

  6. "Hard work but rewarding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to build Career opportunities in a fast paced environment which builds a wide range of skills, being left with huge responsibilities and trusted ensure the business runs smoothly

    Cons

    Working to tight budgets with small staff hours, faced paced and demanding, mainly attract students and young workers due to social venues

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-06
  7. "Pub Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent bonus and remuneration scheme. Strong support network and communication from above. Excellent training programme.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Potential conflict with problem customers

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    September 5, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  8. "managers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pub Manager in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 10 years

    Pros

    organised, forward looking company that supplies the tools to enable the manager to concentrate on the customer experience. always innovating and changing the pub landscape

    Cons

    often not seen as the best place to work at

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 11, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you very much for your feedback

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pub manager struggles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus. (When hit) Love the job Social being I around new people everyday

    Cons

    Pressure from above almost unbearable Management pay is falling behind other companies Head office frustration

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    We appreciate your comments - it really helps us understand where we're 'at' and what work we have to do going forward.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pub Manager - High Pressure and Slashing of Labour Budgets"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary and Bonuses are excellent if you can achieve very challenging targets. Excellent personnel support and well designed training structure. If you enjoy structure, can follow all, sometimes conflicting focuses from Area Managers, Auditors, Mystery Shoppers, Marketing etc without question, and can cope with hours budgets being slashed without notice, discussion or reasoning, then this is the challenging environment for you.

    Cons

    Difficult to achieve work-life balance. Hours budget is incredibly strictly controlled, with daily emails if it looks like you are going to overspend by even 1 hour that week, and Area Managers usually phoning you also, which is highly distracting. Company has very tight control on Head Office costs, which results in errors and waste of money in terms of marketing, which can be frustrating due to the above hours focus. Since minimum wage increase, it looks likely cost savings are going to come from massive cuts to hours budgets again, morale amongst Pub Managers low as expectations of results are widely regarded as unreasonable.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for your comments. Working smarter is a key focus, you're right - support and clarity on how we can do this is key, so that it does not have that detrimental effect you mention. One for further debate this week and on-going certainly.

Found 37 reviews