J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1354 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
556 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for IF you work at a good pub."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those that work hard there are serious progression opportunities. Excellent for training and plenty of opportunity to learn valuable life skills. The people you get to work with and meet make the job x10 easier.

    Cons

    Is a very high-pressure job which some people may find too much. Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback about working for the company.

  2. "Best of the bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Perks Pay Job security People

    Cons

    No menu input No product input

    Advice to Management

    Work as hard as the staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-26
  3. "Whether to Wetherspoons?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time - while at university I was able to transfer between a pub at home and a pub in Exeter. The pay is good and they were able to give me shifts based on the days/times I gave them. My team in Cheltenham has been so friendly and social, I feel integral to the pub. There is plenty of opportunity to work your way up too if you wanted to make a career of it.

    Cons

    Too large a pub with multiple managers and lots of associates means you never really feel part of a team and simply feel like a number (Imperial in Exeter) - witnessed high staff turn over in this environment. A pub with only 1/2 managers is so much better as you feel integral to the team and will work with everyone at some point and get to know them properly. Hours can be unsociable if you work closed and weekends... but you can opt not to.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  4. "Good Part Time Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Southampton, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work perks Option for fast progression

    Cons

    Increasing responsibility without equivalent pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses. Friendly staff, understanding management

    Cons

    Hard work, very busy and very repetitive

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-11
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week. You can apply for shares with the company after you’ve been with them for 18 months (free money) you can apply for a flexible rota after you have been with the company 26 weeks and they will try there best to help. Free meals and soft drink on your breaks. 50% discount when you work for your meals and soft drinks and 20% on meals and alcohol when your off. ... Great opportunity to process in the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons for me.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  7. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekend nights are a lot of fun to work. Great coworkers. Head office generally listens to you; they revised the tipping policy because of employees being unhappy about it. Nice regulars. Very decent pay for my age group. There's always a good atmosphere in the pubs; lively and enjoyable place to work.

    Cons

    Can get pretty rowdy and there's often drama. I had to quit as the managers just would not let me book days off. They always "forgot" despite me taking the proper procedures. Working floor can actually be pretty stressful.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-05
  8. "Friend and fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - It is a well recognised brand with a competitive wage system - fast paced and exciting - experience in customer service - friednly staff and mangers

    Cons

    - the customers having set opinions on the company that don't echo how it truly operates

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-02
  9. "Has its moments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Shawlands, Scotland

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits r getting better n wen working with good team, it's a great place to work

    Cons

    No social life, expectation to do extra hours without properly compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff more

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off food and drink on shift 20% off food and drink off shift Easy training and good management structure

    Cons

    Long hours No weekends to yourself Drunk customers can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive to keep staff engaged and happy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-01
Found 1354 reviews