J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 22 January 2019
1,023 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
428 Ratings

1,023 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working" (in 52 reviews)

  • "Best staff benefits I've ever recieved (50% off food whilst working)" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours above those contracted with no additional pay if in salary" (in 117 reviews)

  • "They reduced the hours in the contract to improve work life balance but in reality you are always there longer than your rotary" (in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Current Employee - Bar Associate
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They work hard to provide a lot of training for you, encouraging you to be the best you can be. It's great to be in a company that cares about its staff progress. Bonuses are pretty sweet.

    Cons

    It can be a very stressful environment. You do eventually get used to it though. There is also a quick turnover for a lot of staff. It pretty much can take over your life.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice for management.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your positive review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Career progression is great.
    - hours are good.
    - bonuses monthly and after each audit.
    - great training
    - salary very competitive for the pub trade.

    Cons

    - poor management who seem to get away with anything.

    Advice to Management

    Pub managers should be monitored more closely to avoid issues.

  3. "What an amazing place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff
    Current Employee - Bar Staff
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Culture
    Brilliant staff banter
    Lots of charity opportunities
    Very sociable
    Enhanced pay after 12am
    Many more Pro's

    Cons

    Would love to work more hours, but due to budgeting that's currently not possible

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you are enjoying working with us.


  4. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I worked at weatherpersons for 2 , almost 3 years. Had an amazing time learning the trade and building relationships with the regulars and co workers/managers. This is specific to my branch, however know other weatherpersons in the area with similar cultures. Flexible shifts if a good worker, good discount in all branches and attitude of constant self improvement with skills that are transferable in any business.

    Cons

    Sometimes the drive for success from head office, with new incentives and ideas can improve some areas, however if specific branches arnt making enough to fund extra staff, the options left are leaving later on closes to ensure all jobs (new and old) are done, or all jobs are done to a lesser standard where staff leave earlier. Requires Extremely high motivation to complete with quality in specific time frame.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review


  5. "So many positives to this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shiftleader
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shiftleader
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    training, promotion, progression plans, targets, great colleagues

    Cons

    sometimes unsociable, some shifts difficult


  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Lincoln, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Bonus scheme
    Discount
    Training
    Pay
    Incentives
    Friendly staff

    Cons

    Long shifts
    Work load
    Hours restrictions
    Rude customers
    Late nights

    Advice to Management

    None


  7. "Lm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good friendly staff
    Always ready to learn

    Cons

    Alright management
    Boring food at times

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We will discuss your review in our weekly meetings.

  8. "Shift Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses for just doing your job right, opportunity for progression, fair pay

    Cons

    Work/life balance, long shifts, no cap on working hours unlike duty/pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We will discuss your review in our weekly meetings.


  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    no cons to mentions for the company

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  10. "Cleaner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Maidstone, England
    Current Employee - Cleaner in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Because it is a nice company to work for and everybody is friendly and nice to work with there

    Cons

    There is none o can really think of atall at the moment

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    20 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your positive review.


Showing 1,023 of 1,035 reviews
Reset Filters