J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1196 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
488 Ratings
  1. "Fast pace but lovely team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Burton upon Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with hours and breaks

    Cons

    Lots of pressure in the kitchen and from management

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-26
  2. "Good but hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good bonus if your pub has high standards extra £1 per hour between midnight and 6am

    Cons

    long hours job satisfaction varies from pub to pub.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  3. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Durham, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good training Very flexible

    Cons

    Working until 4am some nights due to clean up

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  4. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Huntingdon and Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus each month

    Cons

    No consistency with shifts, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like they are people not just numbers , take better care of people’s data

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  5. "Okay in-between job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can usually get the time wanted off

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-24
  6. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Foh/Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can meet lots of people due to high turnover

    Cons

    extremely bad management, long hours, bad pay, extremely stressful, bad hours and alot of overtime. Holidays not taken seriously and put off by managers for weeks or even months in my case, instead of properly being filed straight away.

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers right and maybe the turnover won't be so high.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
  7. "Hard work but good team dynamic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of hours, good team dynamic.

      Cons

      Management can be inflexible and lacking in situational leadership skills.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
    • "Shift Manager/Duty Manager Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Manager in Mold, Wales
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Management feeding on shifts The Management Academy training is great Good/ fast career progression Met some great friends over the years Feel like the company is starting to improve with regards to work/life balance but still a long way to go!

      Cons

      As mentioned above, I do feel like the work/life balance is, albeit, slowly improving however we are still a long way off. Long hours, no management breaks and increasing administration is a problem in a lot of pubs especially Suburb pubs where hours do not permit. Increasing work load from Head Office/Area Management/Regional Management is a problem whilst saving hours and cutting costs. No additional pay...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I understand that we have an associate promise and many pubs have nailed this now. But we need to start looking at a “Manager/Management promise”. Regular audits needs to be carried out to see if the management team are actually getting 1 weekend off a month or two consecutive days off together. This is becoming a tick box exercise and Auditors and area management are not checking this properly and there’s little implication...

      Show More
      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-21
    • "Excellent company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pub Manager in Brighton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great career progression, competitive salary, additional benefits, free shares

      Cons

      I don’t have any cons for this company

      Advice to Management

      As a pub manager myself working my way up from an associate my so I have been part of the management team for most of my time with the company. I think the company is good and heading in the right direction. Now further advice needed

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
    • "The working experience at Wetherspoons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bar Associate in Crowborough, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Develop great customer facing skills Work in a hardworking team Develop problem solving skills and ability to think on feet Staff discount

      Cons

      The clientele can be very challenging to deal with Very long hours Low pay Understaffed

      Advice to Management

      Rotate staff better on shift times Employ more staff to deal with footfall

      J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
    Found 1196 reviews