J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1354 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
556 Ratings
  1. "Never enough time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own rota, albeit having to work late shifts, some good perks. Build your own team.

    Cons

    Very late nights, constantly relying upon staff that don’t care. Forever recruiting to replace staff u willing to work and who call in sick continually. No time to manage absenteeism due to absenteeism.

    Advice to Management

    Non pub based management need to follow the same rules that is enforced on pub staff but don’t. Area & general managers are so far detached from what modern pub working is like but don’t want to hear what it’s like on the coal face.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-28
  2. "Decent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monthly bonus if pub meets targets

    Cons

    Early starts and late finishes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No pub manager promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits like shares Great pay GM very involved Staff liaison meetings

    Cons

    Micromanaged Under constant threat of disciplinary No input in running business Very stressful No work life balance Area management/personnel - all friends nowhere to turn for support Made to work when pubs are quiet - yet graded on it

    Advice to Management

    Who looks after pub Managers? We have to look after all our employees but no one cares for us. I was told “everyone has families” when I complained My working pattern meant I rarely seen my child or partner

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-09
  4. "Great opportunity if you get a GOOD Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Development opportunities Living wage, guaranteed hours Learn about the business behind the scenes Friendly regulars and colleagues make your days enjoyable Plenty of training puts in a great position if you move to another job in the industry. Free food when on duty, discounts when off duty! BONUS PAY - if your pub performs well!

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Lack of a work/life balance Lots of effort for little reward

    Advice to Management

    It's a people thing! That's your slogan, stick to it.. look after your staff and keep a close eye on how the pub managers look after them.. have regular associate liaison meetings to find out the issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  5. "Friendly team environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Friendly team Nicer customers then other bars I've worked in Although hours weren't always that flexible could usually find cover if needed

    Cons

    Hours werent always that flexible

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-25
  6. "Part Time Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Team Member in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Flexible. Pay Above Minimum Wage.

    Cons

    Occasionally Frantic Environment. Early Starts or quite late finishes into the night.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-09
  7. "Good money but mangers are difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Night Shift Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    4 shifts a week, 3 days off

    Cons

    Hard to get pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  8. "Wasn’t a bad employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress/Bar Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Good amount of holidays. Regulars are always friendly.

    Cons

    Management can be disrespectful and not listen to your views. Some staff are rude. Lots of gossip with people around the pub.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and don’t speak to them like they’re nothing just because you feel like it.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  9. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with a good team Pays more than minimum wage- but you definitely earn it! Always hours available

    Cons

    At times the place is understaffed which can make work even more stressful, late, unsociable hours- but that’s expected.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-07
  10. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for any hardworking employee Good pay Good bonuses Great support networks Lots of training and further opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer with you always being on call

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
Found 1354 reviews