J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 31 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
669 Ratings
  1. "Perfect for uni"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Hospitality in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible. The team I worked with was very lovely and I really enjoyed it there. Was perfect for me during university.

    Cons

    Late hours and obviously working the weekend and a few nights a week.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-17
  2. "Busy"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff interaction, paid breaks and free food

    Cons

    Hard work and busy at times

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-30
  3. "Great training"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Sowerby Bridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    training and products are very good

    Cons

    be prepared to do the work of 2 people

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-14
  4. "Hard work - not a viable career without burning out."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It can be a fun and engaging job, the people you work with and the regular customers male the job enjoyable. The free food is good and staff discounts are useful. I'd recommend it as a part time or second job for a bit of fun in your teens or twenties. Don't let it become your 'career'.

    Cons

    As much as the company pretends to 'care' its all really about the money wrapped up in a pretend sense of 'team' or 'family'. Once you realise that you're selling a drug to people that makes their lives seem a little less dark and soul destroying then you have the truth of it. The pub trade is quite dark and seedy underneath and the recent press coverage has just highlighted how much Mr Martin only cares about his profits and not his people. Hours allocated are unrealistic and some shifts just aren't worth coming in for.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-26
  5. "Great Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I personally enjoy the job, it's nothing fancy but it can lead to a career with high pay if this industry is for you. The job itself is simple but can be stressful if it's busy or other members of staff don't contribute. Lots of overtime. Better than minimum wage pay, not much better though.

    Cons

    Often times there are shifts that are so short there's almost no point and other times incredibly long shifts with no pattern, so not great for a work life balance. often times while busy i do need to leave my break and either leave early or get paid the difference.

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-11
  6. "Great"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Cardiff, Wales

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good bonus schemes, free meal on shift

    Cons

    Understaffing on purpose makes life hell

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-07
  7. "Poor Company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay and acceptable benefits

    Cons

    Unfair workload and ungrateful managers

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-19
  8. "Whetherspoons employee review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Wage is decent, free food

    Cons

    The general public can be a pain

    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-17
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Redditch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Environment, staff offers, learning opportunities, teamwork

    Cons

    Salary, can get a bit boring,

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-01
  10. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    fun fast moving good to met people busy and active

    Cons

    not many cons - really enjoyed it

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2020-05-01
Found 1629 reviews