J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1158 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
475 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It’s great to know this is working for you.

  2. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  3. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  4. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    - good pay - friendly staff, very diverse

    Cons

    - "on the job training" - stood around in the kitchen when I first started without knowing or being told what to do - can get very hot and busy in a small kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a friendly team.

  5. "Wetherspoon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very good and the managers are always friendly and there has never been any issues related to my availability when having more uni work

    Cons

    It gets really busy sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is great that you are enjoying the role and have the flexibility to work around your studies. Thanks for your feedback

  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Decent wage and the staff are overall friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Hardly any hours available even if you are full time

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  7. "Stressful, but good pay for my age"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    £8.50 an hour, considering I'm 18 this is much better than minimum wage • was employed very quickly • weekly pay • lots of hours to be given

    Cons

    • kitchen work was stressful and as I was new was just forced to do all the washing up • other members of kitchen staff were extremely stressful, rude and unreasonable • work was depressing • given around 45 hours a week when I was on a 12 hour contract because people kept not coming in

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  8. "Wetherspoons Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Pontypridd, Wales
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a good time working here.

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review and hard work during your time with us.

  9. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay Large Team Discount food & drink

    Cons

    Long Hours Unsociable Not good training on bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and employee discount are valued. Thanks for your hard work.

  10. "Fast paced and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

      Cons

      Long hours and late closes can be a drag

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    Found 1158 reviews