J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 24 March 2019
1,091 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working" (in 53 reviews)

  • "20% of food and drink off shift" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, shift work, no work life balance" (in 117 reviews)

  • "Staff busy condition work life balance" (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    discounts
    training
    support
    increase confidence in talking to others

    Cons

    long hours
    unsociable
    end up smelling of ale and food
     always on feet

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are glad you thought we were 5 star, good luck with your future.


  2. "Great people to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and better wages than my friends get elsewhere

    Cons

    Hard work and often hours get cut

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work but remember cutting hours will cut sales

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It's great to hear you feel our rates of pay and benefits are competitive. We take on board your comments about reducing hours. Hopefully our guaranteed hours contracts provide certainty about the... More

  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    fun place to work

    Cons

    none but sometimes get really busy

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review. Great that you found your pub a fun place to work.


  4. "Fantastic Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Exeter, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    High standards
    Decent pay
    Past passed environment
    Work hard, you’ll be rewarded
    Shares
    Discounts

    Cons

    It’s not a easy job at times

    Advice to Management

    Continue to reward hardworking staff

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It's great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay, shares and employee discount are valued. Thanks for your hard work and many congratulations on your long service.


  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good job, easy, good hours and don’t start on minimum wage

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, management are also lazy

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It's great to know this worked for you.


  6. "Poor Pay structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexi Time and understanding managers

    Cons

    Poor working hours and little progressio


  7. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Decent pay
    Uniform is provided for kitchen staff
    Decent holiday entitlement
    Good bonus schemes as long as your pub is performing

    Cons

    Can be very clicky
    Management have been unprofessional in pubs I’ve worked in
    A lot of drama

    Advice to Management

    Treat all your staff with respect, your associates are just as important as you

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review, and for all your hard work whilst working at Wetherspoon. We agree with your comments about the importance of treating all employees with respect. It's a People thing!... More

  8. "Bullied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Crew in Street, England
    Former Employee - Kitchen Crew in Street, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    None at all everything was rubbish.

    Cons

    Ita a joke I don't recommend

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that when someone reports that they are being bullied do something about it.


  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Managers friendly and help with the hard work at the bar when things get busy

    Cons

    Long time spent on your feet. Besides a lunch break its not really seen as good to be sitting down, you constantly have to be working on your feet


  10. "Persistent Maintenance and Personnel Challenges to the USN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kicthen Assistant in Leicester, England
    Former Employee - Kicthen Assistant in Leicester, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    easy part time job nearby

    Cons

    Managers dont care about you

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments.