J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1158 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
475 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good support from HO Well paid Good incentives

    Cons

    Lots of pressure to achieve targets whilst keeping costs down. Hard to progress after shift manager

    Advice to Management

    Keep in mind the pressure you put on pub management teams.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your positive comments about your pay and incentives. Please check out the current vacancies via myJDW for opportunities to progress .

  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

    Advice to Management

    Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

  3. "What spoons is actually like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay per hour. Good benefits. Good opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Runs on an ideal world basis and it’s never an ideal world No person to person training all online Not much support for abuse in the workplace Understaffed Too much stress and pressure for what the job actually is.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review. You have raised points which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  4. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are lovely and supportive which in turn offers a more pleasant working environment. I think the progressive pay is also great and puts JDW in the lead in terms of setting the bar for pay in this industry.

    Cons

    Last minute rota changes could be a real headache

    Advice to Management

    I think senior management need to remember their roots, as it is a very difficult job at pub level and it does seem senior management is very out of touch with what they expect v what they offer.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Great to hear positive comments in relation to your pay and working environment. We ask all our senior management to regularly work shifts in our pubs to maintain a full understanding of the operation. We agree with you!

  5. "Kitchen Shift Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good competitive pay good training scheme

    Cons

    Can be very stressful and demanding at times depending on management colleagues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. Good to hear that your pay is competitive and that the training schemes we offer are good.

  6. "Decent first time good. Good pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    - Ability to progress - Pay - People - Sociably job

    Cons

    - Hit and miss managers and pub managers- can be really nice or awful. - Everything's cheap and done to a poor quality- but it is spoons - Tim Martin thinks hes Teresa May with all his Brexit involvement

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-15
  7. "Working for spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Discounts are always a plus on already cheap drinks and you can progress quickly

    Cons

    Being given unrealistic targets to hit with regards to hour usage Stressful hours that are often unsociable Work life balance.... What's that? Having to deal with abuse from the public and it being brushed off as if its okay.

    Advice to Management

    Your staff are your biggest asset and resource, cutting the hours they can use to run the pub is ridiculous. Your expecting us to cut hours and hours out of the rotas which leaves us running short almost every day and causing stress and anxiety amongst all the staff..... That's the reason people leave, people have bills to pay, families to raise, and while spoons is a great place to progress and learn loads of new skills...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  8. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Paid weekly Staff discount Able to change shifts shortish notice

    Cons

    Very clique orientated Very petty management Horrible working hours

    Advice to Management

    Chill out

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry things did not work out for you. Best wishes for the future

  9. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    -Great chances for career progression - Benefits are good (50% off food and drink during shift & 20% off otherwise) - your managers are hired internally and have made their way up from your position, and so better understand your interests

    Cons

    -the pay is a bit low

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear that you are benefitting from the discount scheme and the chance to progress. Many thanks for you review

  10. "Will be well looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Living wage, GMH, associate promise

    Cons

    The usual working in hospitality issues

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the managers also feel the benefits of the associate promise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. All employees are offered GMH which is really popular.

Found 1158 reviews