J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1354 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
556 Ratings
  1. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Guaranteed minimum hour contracts - Social place to work - Good progression opportunities - Excellent training all-round - Flexibility for shifts - Staff discounts and food on shifts - Free shares after 18 months of employment

    Cons

    - Hours can be long but all depends on your availability

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-16
  2. "Competitive pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Abercarn, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good workmanship and good pay,fair place to work

    Cons

    Not many opportunities there Biased management Lack of career progression Also lack of training opportunities

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good staff. Pay is ok if you put the hours in.

    Cons

    Work life balance... Working so many finishes means i dont see my child as much as i would like. Managers who favour their friends

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  4. "Not the best, but for a bit of extra money it’s not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the customers, obviously you get some really awful ones but I really enjoy some of the variety of people we get. I love to talk to people and establish a good relationships with the regulars. There’s also some really good benefits, 50% of food and drink on shift and 20% the rest of the time and there’s plenty of opportunities to earn a little extra when quotas are hit or when audits and CQSMA’s get good scores.

    Cons

    I’ve now worked in multiple pubs under this chain and honestly they’re all pretty much the same. If you have any skill, you’re wasted here. Most of the staff are lazy, the communication is lacking, and often times you’re not treat as a person with needs you’re just filling space. As a person who suffers from a chronic illness I need personally a little extra help sometimes or just a bit more relaxed rules when I’m having a bad day and it’s often overlooked or I’m made to do things I physically struggle with because of my issues. Over all, not bad but definitely not good.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-28
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is ok, the people you work with are the best part about the job where every day is different. Company culture would be good if it was upheld in every pub (which it’s not). Training schemes are good and pay can be ok

    Cons

    Bonuses would be good if ever able to achieve them Under pressure to perform, blame culture when something goes wrong, long hours, shift patterns can be awful

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-13
  6. "The life and times of a shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training is first class you can progress as far as possible if you you are willing to put in the work

    Cons

    Long hours although the working week has recently come down to 40 hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-12
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary Bonuses Training courses Apprenticeship scheme 40 hour week Perks

    Cons

    Clientele, Shift patterns, High staff turnover, Highly stressful at times mixed with lack of sleep

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-12
  8. "Understaffed all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bartender 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food on shift - 50%

    Cons

    Never enough staff to cover demand.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Teignmouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Discounts Free food on 6+ hours shifts

    Cons

    Can be a bit stressful

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-11
  10. "Great for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Floor Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    can pick up and swap pretty much as many shifts as you want

    Cons

    minimum wage, my part time job wouldnt have been enough to live off without student loan

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-10
Found 1354 reviews