J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 22 January 2019
1,022 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working" (in 52 reviews)

  • "Best staff benefits I've ever recieved (50% off food whilst working)" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours above those contracted with no additional pay if in salary" (in 117 reviews)

  • "They reduced the hours in the contract to improve work life balance but in reality you are always there longer than your rotary" (in 36 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Lm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good friendly staff
    Always ready to learn

    Cons

    Alright management
    Boring food at times

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We will discuss your review in our weekly meetings.


  2. "Kitchen/Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in King's Lynn, England
    Former Employee - Bar/Kitchen Associate in King's Lynn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It is a large company and was offered a wide range or areas to go into while working there

    Cons

    They do ask a lot of you with 0 hour contracts so no solid hours.

  3. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Cardiff, Wales
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good laugh, lots of friendly customers

    Cons

    Long hours and can be tedious

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings.


  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Newcastle, England
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You work with a variety of people, very student based job (young work force). I've worked in 3 different pubs inc a Lloyds. Consistent and continual training opportunities. Great chances at promotion. Managers are generally nice. Hours fit in nicely with other jobs or study. It's easy to transfer to other locations and keep the job.

    Cons

    You may not always get the hours you want (too little) which is ridiculous because they seem to always hire new staff. Shifts can be really short (3.5hrs which is pointless) or they can be really long (9hrs) - doesnt't seem to be that bad (but you'll be on your feet for the majority of it).

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    11 Dec 2018 – Website Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to speak directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  5. "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free management feeding on clock
    20% off food + drink off clock
    Good bonus and training a chemes
    Fast progression

    Cons

    Often working over rota hours
    Always seem understaffed / high staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Increase the off duty discount of 20% and reduce the price of on duty staff drinks. Many other companies offer better discount rates - if not free drinks for staff!

    Area managers to come in occasionally and work at pub level to really understand what it’s like trying to manage shifts within their parameters (I know head office used to do this)

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    11 Dec 2018 – Website Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will discuss your feedback in this week's meetings. I would recommend speaking directly to your pub or area manager if you think there are... More


  6. "Good pay for easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Easy access to promotion
    Fast paced environment

    Cons

    Customers are rude most of the time

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    4 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback


  7. "Kitchen Assosciate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in London, England
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    the wage is enough to keep you alive

    Cons

    Terrible wages, terrible perks, terrible hours, terrible management

    Advice to Management

    Increase wages, conditions, benefits etc

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Jan 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience.

  8. "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great and amazing place to work, no doubt

    Cons

    Would prefer a higher paid job

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    4 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback


  9. "My Time at J D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Pay is fairly average and the psy contract was well established and respected.

    Cons

    Workload could get out of hand especially on holidays and there aren't enough staff to work smoothly

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    18 Dec 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Career progression
    Discounts on and off shifts, management fed on shift
    Online training (although some of the modules are rubbish and take too long)
    Students can transfer relatively easily during term/holiday time

    Cons

    Every time there is a pay increase there is an overall hours decrease so you get paid more an hour but have to work even harder as there are less staff
    Seems like somebody is constantly off sick and a shift needs covering
    Constant pressure to maintain high standards with not enough staff to physically achieve them

    Advice to Management

    Base available hours for pubs on the amount of physical time needed to actually do the job to a high standard, not allocate an amount you want to spend on wages and spread out by number of hours that adds up to. Certain tasks take a set amount of time (cleaning lines, cleaning tables, counting money, then there's serving drinks, pouring a pint takes 15 seconds) People setting the budgets should actually try doing the job and calculate things like how many drinks can be served an hour and then allot hours based on time required to perform tasks, some of the drinks are so cheap that there cant be much margin on them and that means that by paying someone to actually make them you're pushing a loss unless they start rushing which then causes mistakes Bar staff have to serve customers within 2 minute, and iOrders have to reach tables within 5 minutes, often you can only afford 2 bar staff so if there is a rush this is impossible to meet. Floor staff have to ensure all food leaves the gantry within 60 seconds, checkbacks performed within 2 minutes, and tables cleared within 5 minutes of finishing eating, plus toilet checks on the hour, seems reasonable until budgeting only allows one person on the floor even when busy and you have 50+ tables to attend to and some are at least 30 seconds away from the kitchen. the higher ups constantly state floor standards aren't high enough, I think if they tried covering the same shift the floor would be just as bad if not worse!

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More