J D Wetherspoon Bar/Floor Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1192 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
488 Ratings
  1. "Short-term student job, but they messed me around a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Staff in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -50% off food on shift, 20% when you're off shift. - Great co-workers and some fun regulars (if you're lucky on the latter) -You'll always have amazing stories to tell your friends after every shift, especially in city pubs where people are just downright sleazy most of the time. - Depending on where you are, the managers can be nice.

    Cons

    - Poor training, I treated like an imbecile after swapping pubs because I hadn't been fully trained. - Last minute rotas despite being told rotas would always be up 3 weeks in advance. - Discrete rota changes, and they ignored the fact that I couldn't work on Sunday evenings because I have 9AM lectures, constant closing shifts despite saying I cannot afford an uber home during the weekend so I would be forced to cycle/walk...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you employ students, don't pressure them to prioritise a dead-end bar job over their degrees just because you need Sunday cover. Also, you might want to look into how your managers treat their staff and customers in all of your central Birmingham pubs, it's frankly quite disgusting.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-03
  2. "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Foh/Kitchen Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can meet lots of people due to high turnover

    Cons

    extremely bad management, long hours, bad pay, extremely stressful, bad hours and alot of overtime. Holidays not taken seriously and put off by managers for weeks or even months in my case, instead of properly being filed straight away.

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers right and maybe the turnover won't be so high.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-22
  3. "For a pub, it’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Enfield, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Fairly flexible hours Weekly pay

    Cons

    Anti social hours Rude customers Cleaning jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-01
  4. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Keswick, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay shares in company A lot of hours

    Cons

    Hard work Mostly weekends and nights

    Advice to Management

    More staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-31
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good for overall development

    Cons

    Easy to get stuck in the job

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-15
  6. "not the worst, not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, not a bad job at all for young people wanting to start a career

    Cons

    very hard work. work/life balance isn't the best.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-14
  7. "Not amazing but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Can earn good bonuses and hours are flexible

      Cons

      Not every pub I've worked in has been the same, its all down to management style and so some are worse than others

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-29
    • "Brilliant company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader in Durham, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Bonuses every month, Free man food, Free shares, great staff, great managers.

      Cons

      Unsociable hours, not great gmh contracts to start out with

      J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
    • "Fine job and good team"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bar Worker in Plymouth, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good team work amongst staff members

        Cons

        Not enough staff to work busyhours

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Many thanks for your review and hard work.

      • "Generally good"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

        Pros

        Got stock bonus to prevent us wasting. Management were understanding and kind and didn’t let customers abuse us.

        Cons

        Shift patterns were weird, training wasn’t very interesting

        J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09
      Found 1192 reviews