J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1158 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
475 Ratings
  1. "Brilliant but Tough Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

    Cons

    Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

  2. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    General pay okay for basic hospitality work with relatively quick progression

    Cons

    Shift patterns can are not always the greatest

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments and good to hear you are benefiting from the progression opportunities available to you.

  3. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Taunton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good training, busy

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, a little understaffed on some busy shifts

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-25

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review

  4. "Promises progression and training, utter lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Keeps you on your toes - Fun co-workers - Good pay - Discount on and off shifts

    Cons

    - Rotas weren't released until the last minute - Discrepancies around booking holidays, managers would lie about them being booked off. - Ignored the fact that I am a student with 8.30AM lectures and still gave me shifts that ended at 1.30-2 AM, how am I meant to go to lectures and focus with under 6 hours sleep? - Very stressful shifts with no empathy for new people that struggled - Many of your customers are homophobic,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train people properly, own up to your own mistakes, and follow company guidelines!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24
  5. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  6. "OK place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Colleagues, cheap food, nights out, easy work

    Cons

    Poor management, long shifts, no music

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future

  7. "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

    Cons

    Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

  8. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Great fun place to work and usually you are kept busy.

    Cons

    Late night shifts can be difficult

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you found the pub a fun place to work.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Some pubs are better to work for than others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Excellent training, company standards, discounts, management courses, atmosphere

    Cons

    Profit driven value goes a bit too far and mangament forget about the happiness of their employees, staff often get unfairly barred when they leave, security can be difficult to work with, not all management pulls their weight, some pub managers don’t take enough responsibility, drugs, bad conduct

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to support other managers, stop spending all your time in the office, be honest about staff complaints, stop ignoring staff gross misconducts

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you felt our training, standards and discount were good. We will take a look at the other points you have raised.

  10. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

Found 1158 reviews