J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1196 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
488 Ratings
  1. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Decent wage and the staff are overall friendly and helpful

    Cons

    Hardly any hours available even if you are full time

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your comments. We try to ensure everyone has hours that suit them but appreciate it is not always easy to achieve.

  2. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you feel the hours are good and there is flexibility with shifts. However, there are a couple of points that you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Good pay, stressful sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, mid-shifts are easy enough if you have a good team with you. Good employee discount, especially on shift.

    Cons

    Often don't get out of work until 2am on weekends, can be asked to work 10 hour shifts, long closedown procedure, some time pressure during rush hours as meals have to be cooked within 10 minutes.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07
  4. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    - good pay - friendly staff, very diverse

    Cons

    - "on the job training" - stood around in the kitchen when I first started without knowing or being told what to do - can get very hot and busy in a small kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a friendly team.

  5. "Unfairness throughout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability Well paid Good friends to be made

    Cons

    Never stick to their policies Unloyal Poor breaks No well being No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you prwCh

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  6. "Stressful, but good pay for my age"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    £8.50 an hour, considering I'm 18 this is much better than minimum wage • was employed very quickly • weekly pay • lots of hours to be given

    Cons

    • kitchen work was stressful and as I was new was just forced to do all the washing up • other members of kitchen staff were extremely stressful, rude and unreasonable • work was depressing • given around 45 hours a week when I was on a 12 hour contract because people kept not coming in

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  7. "Wetherspoons Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Pontypridd, Wales
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had a good time working here.

    Cons

    There are no cons that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your review and hard work during your time with us.

  8. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay Large Team Discount food & drink

    Cons

    Long Hours Unsociable Not good training on bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and employee discount are valued. Thanks for your hard work.

  9. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get ended...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let shift leaders know that they aren’t superior to the general kitchen staff who are trying their best. People work at different paces and learn in different ways. Do not tolerate any patronising behaviour and let your employees have their breaks. Do not over work them and actually pay them what they’ve actually earned: do not just randomly choose the pay check. Give the employees CONSTRUCTIVE FEEDBACK, “You are terrible...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24
  10. "Fast paced and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

      Cons

      Long hours and late closes can be a drag

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    Found 1196 reviews