J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews

Updated 2 March 2019
44 reviews

Filter

Filter

Shift Leader

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
17 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working" (in 53 reviews)

  • "20% of food and drink off shift" (in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, shift work, no work life balance" (in 117 reviews)

  • "Staff busy condition work life balance" (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in London, England
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    People, management feeding, progression

    Cons

    Very long hours, high stress

    Advice to Management

    Be more willing to spend more hours on the new staff, turnover and retention seem to be issues with new starters through them being Rota'd into shifts they're not ready for due to lack of training hours

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    26 Sep 2017 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.


  2. "Hard work but good money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Done 10 years for 'Spoons, 6 of those as a kitchen shift leader. Depending on the pub it can be really hard work but the pay is good as well as fully paid breaks and food allowance on shift.

    Cons

    No where else to progress other than kitchen manager which is 1 per pub and rarely the opportunity comes up.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    22 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for all your hard work and for your review. It's disappointing to hear that you feel there isn't any opportunity for progression. There are lots of exciting opportunities for both Kitchen... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Reasonable pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The pay and bonus system was generous.

    Cons

    The slightly higher than industry standard pay and bonus system was lauded over anyone who made a complaint.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    19 Feb 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with the Area Manager.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Behavior of pub manager is unacceptable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader
    Former Employee - Shift Leader
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working behind the bar can be fun.
    monthly bonus

    Cons

    After progressing within less than a year from bar associate to shift manager things just went from bad to worse. The pub manager kept putting me on close shifts (end around 3am) then would expect me to come back at 6am (the same morning) and open the pub;these shifts were on the rota. After about 3 months of this happening I obviously grew sick of it and quit. This prompted the 'Pub Manager' (if you could call her that all she did was sit in the office all day; often found her sleeping in there) to on the spot accuse me of stealing in front of around 7 people even though my till had never been short and there was no missing stock. Obviously this was a massive accusation of which I knew I was innocent and so i asked for proof which is when she started stumbling over her words obviously nervous because she had none. Needless to say I walked out; she rang me about 2 days later and asked me to come back; surely you wouldn't ask someone you thought was stealing to come back would you?

    Advice to Management

    Higher management (area/regional managers) need to talk to the staff below the pub managers when they come in instead of ignoring them; if there's something wrong you can guarantee an associate or a team leader will tell you stuff that the pub manager won't.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    5 Mar 2019 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for the review. You have raised points which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free management feeding on clock
    20% off food + drink off clock
    Good bonus and training a chemes
    Fast progression

    Cons

    Often working over rota hours
    Always seem understaffed / high staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Increase the off duty discount of 20% and reduce the price of on duty staff drinks. Many other companies offer better discount rates - if not free drinks for staff!

    Area managers to come in occasionally and work at pub level to really understand what it’s like trying to manage shifts within their parameters (I know head office used to do this)

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    11 Dec 2018 – Website Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will discuss your feedback in this week's meetings. I would recommend speaking directly to your pub or area manager if you think there are... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hours!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Career progression
    Discounts on and off shifts, management fed on shift
    Online training (although some of the modules are rubbish and take too long)
    Students can transfer relatively easily during term/holiday time

    Cons

    Every time there is a pay increase there is an overall hours decrease so you get paid more an hour but have to work even harder as there are less staff
    Seems like somebody is constantly off sick and a shift needs covering
    Constant pressure to maintain high standards with not enough staff to physically achieve them

    Advice to Management

    Base available hours for pubs on the amount of physical time needed to actually do the job to a high standard, not allocate an amount you want to spend on wages and spread out by number of hours that adds up to. Certain tasks take a set amount of time (cleaning lines, cleaning tables, counting money, then there's serving drinks, pouring a pint takes 15 seconds) People setting the budgets should actually try doing the job and calculate things like how many drinks can be served an hour and then allot hours based on time required to perform tasks, some of the drinks are so cheap that there cant be much margin on them and that means that by paying someone to actually make them you're pushing a loss unless they start rushing which then causes mistakes Bar staff have to serve customers within 2 minute, and iOrders have to reach tables within 5 minutes, often you can only afford 2 bar staff so if there is a rush this is impossible to meet. Floor staff have to ensure all food leaves the gantry within 60 seconds, checkbacks performed within 2 minutes, and tables cleared within 5 minutes of finishing eating, plus toilet checks on the hour, seems reasonable until budgeting only allows one person on the floor even when busy and you have 50+ tables to attend to and some are at least 30 seconds away from the kitchen. the higher ups constantly state floor standards aren't high enough, I think if they tried covering the same shift the floor would be just as bad if not worse!

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    28 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are... More


  7. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Shift Leader in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Bar Shift Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay. Good training. Chances for progression. Fun Environment.

    Cons

    Awkward hours throwing you around from mornings to night. Very inconsistent.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Your opinion and feedback is useless."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get to work with a great team of people. Your regulars become part of your family. The training structure is strong.

    Cons

    Very abusive customers on a regular basis. Unsociable hours. Management fob you off and don’t listen to any feedback. Pay does not reflect your job and responsibilities e.g a shift leader does the same job as a duty manager yet big pay difference and benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Please can you actually speak to staff in pub, I think you get lost behind that desk when situations do not personally affect yourself. Help staff more when customers are abusive. Stop using tittles to pay people less when the job role and responsibilities are the same.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    14 Nov 2018 – Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your area manager or call and speak... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "They dont care about you, They only care about there bottom Line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Hove, England
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Hove, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    You do meet all dfferent types of people.
    and some interesting customers

    Cons

    No flexiblity
    terrible pay
    always understaffed
    managers that got there from boot licking
    hypocrisy
    bullying

    Advice to Management

    Actually learn to speak to your staff without being really rude. And maybe treat people fairly, And when support is needed for training actually train people.

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    3 Jul 2018 – Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bar shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Shift Leader in London, England
    Current Employee - Bar Shift Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility of rotas. Discount scheme (20% off duty drinks and food discount, 50% food discount while on shift, free food for managers). clear path of progression.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours. Short breaks etc

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the staff. Care for the staff. Find a way to increase work life balance.