J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 70 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
33 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for IF you work at a good pub."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those that work hard there are serious progression opportunities. Excellent for training and plenty of opportunity to learn valuable life skills. The people you get to work with and meet make the job x10 easier.

    Cons

    Is a very high-pressure job which some people may find too much. Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback about working for the company.

  2. "Excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities. Management always keen to train and company always looking to improve staff through training and support. Good bonus scheme and shares incentives

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough during busy periods, but not much more so than industry competitors.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  3. "Good money but mangers are difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Night Shift Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    4 shifts a week, 3 days off

    Cons

    Hard to get pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  4. "Good Part time Uni work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonus's and fab! Training is really good Security of the job Friendly team and management Good progression oppertunities No discrimination

    Cons

    Strssful environment, regularly understaffed, the company is always trying to cut spending to make more profit

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-17
  5. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Guaranteed minimum hour contracts - Social place to work - Good progression opportunities - Excellent training all-round - Flexibility for shifts - Staff discounts and food on shifts - Free shares after 18 months of employment

    Cons

    - Hours can be long but all depends on your availability

    Advice to Management

    Keep being fabulous!

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-16
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good staff. Pay is ok if you put the hours in.

    Cons

    Work life balance... Working so many finishes means i dont see my child as much as i would like. Managers who favour their friends

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to everyone on your team. You cant allow some members to do as they want or work when they want... Equality for all

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  7. "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not only do you get a great discount you can I have flexible hours and if you want to progress you can do so very very quick

    Cons

    How busy we get quickly if it’s not staff the right you really can get overwhelmed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-04
  8. "Satisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression, pay, benefits, the team and friendly

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, staffing levels, rude customers

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-14
  9. "Good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shift Leader 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spoons is a great starting point for prospective bar people and the training is really good

    Cons

    It’s a lot of extremely hard work and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review.

  10. "Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Salisbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free food, discounts and flexible hours

    Cons

    Customers, tough management structure, controlled by head office

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 28, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback

Found 70 reviews