J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews

Updated 7 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
49 Ratings
  1. "Great opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very sociable environment, you have access to progression across the company in a variety of roles anywhere in the UK. The company has great morals and ethics, pay and benefits are above average and multiple opportunities to increase if you want it.

    Cons

    Can be unsociable hours, work on your feet. Physical job ( although aids are put into place to make it as easy as possible)

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-05
  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really active job. No two shifts are ever the same. Loads to learn

    Cons

    Easy to get over looked

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-05
  3. "Shift leader"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Full time hours, meeting new people

    Cons

    Full on not enough staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-05
  4. "Best first Job I could of had."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Colleagues, Fun, Interesting, tons of responsibility.

    Cons

    Lack of feeling Safe, Pay, Massive disconnect between the Pub and Head Office, tons of responsibility!

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-06
  5. "Good money but mangers are difficult"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Night Shift Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    4 shifts a week, 3 days off

    Cons

    Hard to get pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  6. "Excellent opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities. Management always keen to train and company always looking to improve staff through training and support. Good bonus scheme and shares incentives

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough during busy periods, but not much more so than industry competitors.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  7. "Brilliant company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Guaranteed minimum hour contracts - Social place to work - Good progression opportunities - Excellent training all-round - Flexibility for shifts - Staff discounts and food on shifts - Free shares after 18 months of employment

    Cons

    - Hours can be long but all depends on your availability

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-16
  8. "Not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good staff. Pay is ok if you put the hours in.

    Cons

    Work life balance... Working so many finishes means i dont see my child as much as i would like. Managers who favour their friends

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  9. "JD Wetherspoon"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not only do you get a great discount you can I have flexible hours and if you want to progress you can do so very very quick

    Cons

    How busy we get quickly if it’s not staff the right you really can get overwhelmed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-04
  10. "Satisfied"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Progression, pay, benefits, the team and friendly

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, staffing levels, rude customers

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-14
Found 93 reviews