J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
19 Ratings
  1. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Eastwood, East Midlands, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for help me progress

    Cons

    Recently left now not allowed the bonus I earned the month before for our audit

    Advice to Management

    All bonus should be paid if earned

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-29

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  2. "Associate-shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Very good progression within.

    Cons

    Alot of work for minimum pay.

    Advice to Management

    Negativity can flow through a place easily.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-05-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  3. "Long term employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management training & opportunities if you want / show willing Pay was good Good pension Free shares Staff usually friendly

    Cons

    Customers expect gourmet food for a fiver! Long hours Often understaffed Some of the higher management have clearly forgot what it's like to work in a pub & expect too much!

    Advice to Management

    Some older managers need to update their Personel knowledge!

    J D Wetherspoon2016-10-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 28, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  4. "My Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with great potential to profession within management, if you're at the right pub. 50% on food will on shift is great! Your workers turn into your second family! I love it!

    Cons

    Although pay is different in certain area, it could be better, for the amount of money the company is making. It's not a bad wage, it still gets me through week to week, with money left over to safe or send on whatever I fancy.

    Advice to Management

    After working in 4 different Wetherspoons, I have realised that someone is as a person is how they are as a manager. Good and bad ones, but that's with any job you have. Over all management are good st what you do and 9/10 they can help you with anything you need.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-16
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In house training at Wetherspoons is unrivalled, so far I have completed the first two modules of the catering academy course and it has given me a far deeper insight into the world of hospitality and catering management than I could possibly hope for anywhere else

    Cons

    Can be challenging to get a reference due to references being completed by HO department rather than pub management

    Advice to Management

    Improve not remove

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 11, 2016Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We have won many awards for being a good employer. We do our best to turnaround references quickly but we do receive many requests.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Shift Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Shift Leader 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

      Pros

      50% off food on shift 20% off food when off shift

      Cons

      Long days Always more needing doing More staff always needed

      J D Wetherspoon2016-05-23

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      June 1, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

      Interesting feedback - thank you for taking the time to leave a review

    • "Shift Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People, speaking to customers and staff

      Cons

      Working all the shifts the managers don't want to, early and lates

      Advice to Management

      Working your employees into the ground doesn't motivate them

      J D Wetherspoon2016-05-19

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 23, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

      We thank you for the comments you have left - it's useful for us to see where we are doing well and where we could improve. The planning of the shifts are a real focus at the moment to ensure they are fair, a balanced mix with a supporting management team on shift and suit the customer ...

      Show More
    • "Wetherspoons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader in Inverness, Scotland
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      Great training courses, relevant to what we do. Brilliant opportunity for advancement in the company, above minimum wage pay, monthly bonus scheme and free shares after 18 months.

      Cons

      Unsociable hours and random days off makes it hard to organise any activities for outside of work. Promotion comes far too easily to those who don't have the necessary experience or skills.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the 'ground staff' more, more regular staff meetings to help quash any unrest or feelings of resentment. Use 'PAP's more to help under-performing staff get up to standard.

      J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
    • "It's ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Romford, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good job progression, discount on food, hours are always available

      Cons

      Lack of trained management, recruitment seems to be hard as well.

      Advice to Management

      Stop taking stress out on your staff otherwise more good staff will walk away from the company

      J D Wetherspoon2016-03-17
    • "Shift leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Leader in Maidstone, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Its a fun place and the majority of staff are good to work with. They offer excellent training and opportunities to progress and a decent bonus scheme.

      Cons

      They are so concerned with saving money at every chance, we often end up short staffed which puts extra pressure on the staff who are working, and often have to work with poor equipment which breaks down a lot.

      Advice to Management

      Make your managers actually have to work front of house instead of spending 90% of their rota sitting in the office.

      J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
    Found 48 reviews