J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Leader Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
19 Ratings
  1. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Romford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good job progression, discount on food, hours are always available

    Cons

    Lack of trained management, recruitment seems to be hard as well.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking stress out on your staff otherwise more good staff will walk away from the company

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-17
  2. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its a fun place and the majority of staff are good to work with. They offer excellent training and opportunities to progress and a decent bonus scheme.

    Cons

    They are so concerned with saving money at every chance, we often end up short staffed which puts extra pressure on the staff who are working, and often have to work with poor equipment which breaks down a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Make your managers actually have to work front of house instead of spending 90% of their rota sitting in the office.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Taunton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    There are but one pro which is free food for managers.

    Cons

    Over worked,under paid,under appriciated,very stressful

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff as you'd like to be treated with better pay and respect.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  4. "A great step up the ladder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really quick promotion, good hours

    Cons

    Not a great salary

    Advice to Management

    Keep going up the ladder

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 25, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments - we hope you enjoy even further progression within the company

  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Extremely satisfying, its no secret that at busy times is can be tough but at the end of the day your always around great people and customers who can sometimes make you forget your working.

    Cons

    Seen many good people leave for better offers/opportunities, Invest in staff that make the company what it is and keep them.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 18, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you very much for your positive review - I am really pleased you enjoy working for us, retaining employees is definitely high on our agenda

  6. "Shift manager, loves the atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Stamford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Put simply It's a people thing, I love handing out the best possible service for my customers, I've met a lot of good people in my pub and it's always nice to hear people compliment me on my hard work and how I look good in my usual fresh coloured shirts and waistcoats :)

    Cons

    Can be long hours (won't be a manager without them right?) honest opinion the break system can do with a tweek, especially on Saturday nights when bar staff can be finishing at 3/4am and a heavy one

    Advice to Management

    As long as you have a happy team and one who talks to customers and is out going to everyone at work, the whole job is easier

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09
  7. "3 Years at Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Shift Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    - Transfer to any pub in the country - Oppourtunity for progression if you want it and work hard - Smaller pubs become like a small family once you've been there a while - The job itself is not difficult

    Cons

    - Generally understaffed & getting a proper break is rare - A huge amount of whether you can tolerate the job is down to what the management team are like - Customers can be really quite unpleasant -No free food, but you get 50% off whilst on shift

    Advice to Management

    Look after the staff well, they look after the customers so happy staff more likely result in happy customers. Also 2 key places where I've seen many a manger fail are Consistency and Communication, if you get those right everything is fine.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thank you. We are pleased to see you enjoy the work and have progressed to a Shift Leader - well done. We agree with your advice and these are areas we work hard to improve. If you think these can improve in your pub please give this feedback to the Area manager (we will send your ...

    Show More
  8. "at your own risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Salford, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    You can transfer to any pubs around the UK.

    Cons

    Everything is a complete disaster

    Advice to Management

    Do some work you lazy people

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09
  9. "Shift leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Peterlee, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working with people, training is good, good chances of progression and I really enjoy my job

    Cons

    Salary compatible to competitors is less, poor work life balance, no incentive working bank holidays, feel replaceable

    Advice to Management

    Make staff feel more valued, offer more competitive salary. Offer double time on bank holidays.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your comments. I'm really pleased you enjoy your job and I also note your feedback on how we could improve. We do think our pay is competitive and we endeavour to provide a good work/life balance - if these things aren't happening in your pub, please speak to your AM

  10. "Be fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mod III Shift Leader in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits with free food on duty and the option for shares. Also good mix of team in terms of ethnicity and age

    Cons

    Over worked and under paid. A lot of the time they didn't stick to their rules of 11 hours between shifts and valued profit over team morale. Stress levels over busy periods were not helped by purposefully understaffing.

    Advice to Management

    Value team morale over anything else. A happier team will lead to a better business.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your review, I liked reading your positive comments on the team and employee benefits we offer. We have very strict guidelines around our rota's and shift patterns, and it is a huge focus for the company. I will pass your comments onto the area manager.

Found 50 reviews