J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
40 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Grangemouth, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance, bonuses, free shares

    Cons

    Senior management need to remember how life as a manager is.

    Advice to Management

    When stepping up the ladder be wary of those you trod on to get there as when you fall back down they won't have forgotten.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-27
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good not great wage, bonus' and perks great

    Cons

    Hours, life style obviously the state of customers

    Advice to Management

    All about making sure your back is covered in everything you do

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "5 years of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Actually a good company to work for if senior management are competent. Benefits are good, as are bonuses although these can be influenced by your management to lessen them. Very good standards and standardisation across the brand. The customers generally are good to get to know.

    Cons

    The feeling that you are just a number, not a person. Senior management appear to have no grip on reality. They place people in jobs they are clearly incapable of doing just to watch them fail. Senior management also seem capable of making decisions about your health without consultation from occupational therapists or doctors. The lack of help sometimes is astounding.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people who work for you, and try to help rather than punish in difficult times. Treat people as people not numbers.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Shift Manager in Lancaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + staff discounted meals + good rate of pay

    Cons

    - horrendous treatment of staff from senior management - constant negative-reinforcement to get work done - unrealistic targets and deadlines set - isolated work pattern, no chance for social life - can be forced to change site within 40 miles at short notice - little-to-no training. expected to run the building straight away - pressured into eating OOD stock to reduce waste, given disciplinary when contended against

    Advice to Management

    = help managers enjoy their jobs and this will reflect onto staff = help to change image of working at wetherspoons, its awful

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always a great team spirit. Fast, structured progression. Good Share save plan and discount schemes

    Cons

    Blame Culture, Long hours Often unfair rotas

    Advice to Management

    Look at rotas and the hours that your employees are expecting you to work.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 24, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Working for Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They look after you if you're a manager. I've enjoyed working for them over the years. I even returned after I left.

    Cons

    Can be hard for bar staff. Area managers and higher don't really care about the work force. Too many rules and regulations for working behind a bar.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Its pepsi is that ok?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great discount, Great people, good Banter in a good team and excellent career prospects, almost all promotion is internal, listen to employees. upper managemant communication.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, the managers saleried 45 hour week whilst it sounds nice has never been close to a reality, hard to achieve company KPI's

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you are doing, but when we are 20 hours over consistently its not because we are taking it easy for 20 hours per week but its because we need those 20 hours to run the pub

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wetherspoon for succession"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Southgate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great rewards, paid holiday, bonus

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, can be long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2017-05-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Doesn't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can be fun, it's flexible, with the right team it's good

    Cons

    Too reliant on people that don't really want to work, don't get the hours to train new staff properly, too worried about profit and budgets to do any major improvements. Not much support when things aren't going well, seen as easily replaceable. Often expected to work out of salaried hours without extra pay.

    Advice to Management

    More time invested in training, buddy up new staff for longer. Have courses for associates like you do for managers so they care more. Pay managers overtime when they have to cover extra hours. Invest more in the pubs, impossible to cut hours and improve service simultaneously.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-08
  10. "better than most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    extensive training scheme; plenty of room for progression

    Cons

    micro management from upper level management; little to no social life

    J D Wetherspoon2017-02-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 21, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

Found 64 reviews