J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
37 Ratings
  1. "Challenging but not always for the right reasons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Chester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Free shares Bonus when achieved Progression opportunities sometimes available The people you work with can be great

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance Blatant favouritism in some cases Management salaries for shift managers not as good as they once were when compared to competitors within the industry. Regularly understaffed. It's difficult not to come across as negative given the atmosphere on my particular area over the last couple of years.

    Advice to Management

    Make the career path to Pub Manager more clear and assist Shift Managers in achieving this goal if they want it. Promote staff based on merit not on length of service or who puts in the most unpaid hours. Telling a shift manager that they are bad at their job, only work their contracted hours (especially when told this on a week where they have put in at least an extra 15-20) and that you are going to block their application...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-02
  2. "Real"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Its challenging at times but what was meant to be a pit stop of a job has turned in to a career and I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Cons

    Not everyone sees it as a business oppurtunity

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-26
  3. "Crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Blackpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good customers. Some decent staff

    Cons

    Salaried as a shift manager and they believe in getting there moneys worth. more and more to do before you get away Hard work and just another number

    Advice to Management

    Less office work

    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 5, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience of my life!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food, employee discount. You can leave with only a weeks notice when you realise you have made a big mistake with this company.

    Cons

    Pub falling apart, daily dramas, discrimination rife, customer service non existent, dirty, rats, bonus's impossible to hit, rude management. Just about everything to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff yourself and do it properly. Pay well for the amount you put your staff through, make bonus's achievable, DO NOT allow your staff and management to discriminate and tarnish others, treat your staff with the respect they deserve. The list is endless!! I have worked in the industry for 10 years, in those 10 years i have managed lots of different bars & restaurants and worked for multiple companys. Wetherspoons...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-06

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    June 13, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your review, I note you no longer work for the company, and wish you all the best in your next career move. We will pass your review to the Area Manager for the area you mention for further review.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade IV 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Training - Job satisfaction - Good hours now they have been reduced - Progression - Free meals

    Cons

    - Pay - No support from area managers - No recognition rom Op's directors, GM's, or AM's - Having to save too many associate hours

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 25, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    thank you for your feedback - greatly appreciated

  6. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Beccles, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    If you want a career with great progression oppourtunities, or just a job to get you some extra cash while you study, Wetherspoons have it. The job is genuinely enjoyable, and you get to meet a real mix of people. Pay and bonuses are good too!

    Cons

    What is a weekend? Chances are, youre going to work some shifts that put a dent in your social life. (Though being able to rush around the supermarket because you have a monday afternoon off and everyones at work is quite good...)

    Advice to Management

    Its definitely all about people. Ive worked with a variety of managers in my time, and having a good manager makes all the difference.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade IV in Rotherhithe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food, meeting new people Mainly staff sometimes customets

    Cons

    Money Abuse Bonus Management that haven't got a clue how to run a bath let a lone a pub

    Advice to Management

    Work!! Set an example Stop moaning about work when your the highest paid in the pub

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  8. "When you sign the contract, you sell your soul!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Ripley, East Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learn skills like customer service, cash handling and time management Can make good friends Pay is decent, get discounted meals Training courses and workshops are good (if you actually go on them!)

    Cons

    J D Wetherspoon is a company that looks great on paper - good pay, bonus scheme, training, progression within, and promise of a work-life balance. In reality, just about NONE of this happens. Yes the pay is decent compared to other companies but it's not enough to deal with the stress, back-stabbing and general lack of direction. As a bar associate (at this particular pub) you get minimal training and then customers...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    actually TRAIN people. (giving someone a tour of the pub and a till key doesn't count) save hours in the week instead of standing around chatting then it won't be a game of cutting hours at the weekend

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  9. "Worst ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager Grade I in Bedlington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    At first there a great company to work for and are good and training and good with hours if you needed to work certain days

    Cons

    Well I worked for them for 5 years all was ok till I worked in one of there pubs and after I worked there a few months I found out I was due my 2nd baby I lost the baby after them not doing the correct thing by leaving me to work alone and after I lost the baby a few days later I had to book time off for the cremation of my child I booked the whole weekend off to b informed by my manger I couldn't have that time off on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to deal with your staff who there going thou a tough time to but it's all about your bonus to them that's the staff work hard for and get not even a tiny bit off what they get

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Prompt payment,very good standard of work

    Cons

    No support from ho side

    Advice to Management

    Be a human

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your 5* review. Please let us know what additional support you need at your pub and we will always listen and help where we can

Found 60 reviews